We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A top inn in Nova Scotia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bread And Roses Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bread And Roses Inn to your Saves list
Bread And Roses Inn
82 Victoria Street, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia B0S 1A0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A top inn in Nova Scotia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Be prepared for a two-hour breakfast when you choose to stay with Gaya and Jim! Not only because the brekkie is superb but because the friendly and knowledgeable hosts stay talking and giving useful advice to you.
Bread and Roses Inn was no doubt the top of our accomodations during our ten-day trip to Nova Scotia. Wish we had a chance to go back some sunny day.

Raija & Markku, Helsinki, Finland

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    15
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
84
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We stayed two nights in this magnificent mansion that has preserved 19th Century architectural details, decorations, artwork and antiques but with modern amenities that blend in without distraction. The Innkeepers were very knowledgeable and attentive, and their cooked breakfasts were outstanding. Altogether, a very comfortable and enjoyable experience that we look forward to repeating again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn, MA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is a lovely victorian B&B. We stayed in Room 8, which was roomy and attractive.
The inn is immaculate - breakfast was excellent and the hosts were very gracious.
We only stayed one night, but wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

We we're had pressed to choose a Bed and Breakfast in Annapolis Royal. Once we arrived at the Bread and Roses, we knew we'd made the right choice. Large comfortable rooms furnished with gorgeous period antiques, the Bread and Roses Inn is a real gem off the beaten path. The proprietors are amazing. A lot of care and attention is put into their Inn. We'll certainly stay here next time we're in Annapolis Royal.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Bread & Roses Inn May 20, 2011. The accommodations were lovely and the owners/operators very friendly and accommodating. Would definitely stay here again. Reasonably priced with home cooked breakfast included.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponca City
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

I loved this place. The room was wonderful. Lots of windows, a great comfy bed and we woke up to the soft sound of the fountain. The breakfast was good. The company and the hosts were nice. Altogether a good experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commack, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

My sister and I stayed 3 nights at the Bread and Roses Inn. It is a beautiful brick Victorian house. We were on the third floor (thankfully Jim the owner brought our suitcases up) in a room with 2 double beds. The room was beautifully furnished with reproduction furniture. It was extremely clean and the sheets were luxurious. There was only one set of towels for each of us in the bathroom which was sort of strange, but I suppose we could have asked for more. The owners Gaya and Jim are very friendly and knowledgeable as they have been the owners for approximately 9 years. I can't say enough how beautiful the house and rooms are (we looked into a lot of the other rooms when they were empty). The breakfast that was served was delicious and the other guests were really interesting to talk to. We walked to everything in the town and took a side trip to Digby while we were there. The Historic Gardens are gorgeous and don't miss the night graveyard tour because it's very informative. I would absolutely recommend the Bread and Roses.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bread And Roses Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bread And Roses Inn

Address: 82 Victoria Street, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia B0S 1A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Annapolis Royal
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bread And Roses Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bread And Roses Inn Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bread And Roses Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.