We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Home Away From Home.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillsdale House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hillsdale House Inn to your Saves list
Hillsdale House Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   519 St. George Street, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia B0S 1A0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
“Our Home Away From Home.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I stay at the Hillsdale House Inn every Labour Day weekend with our wonderful motorcycle friends and family. Val and Paul welcome us with open arms, and absolutely awesome homemade breakfasts. For three wonderful days we are treated like royalty, and eagerly anticipate our next visit. I have, and will continue to recommend the Hillsdale House to anyone who is looking for a place to lay your head and fill your tummy in Annapolis Royal!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    29
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
235
30
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Most enjoyable.
Stayed at the Hillsdale House Inn again this year (August long week-end) and had another fantastic and memorable experience. Paul and Val (the Innkeepers) - many thanks again for being such great hosts! See you next year.
-C-

Room Tip: Each room clearly has its own undeniable charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The house is beautiful and lovingly cared for. They have done an excellent job of bringing a historic home up to current standards. The location is perfect for walking to all that the cute little town has to offer. Food and service excellent too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, VA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

What a gracious place! This Inn is filled with original antique furnishings with high beds and finger carved corset-back chairs. The baths are all modern, and like the rooms-spotless. Beautiful large living rooms and well groomed, flowered, grounds beckon one to read or paint or just enjoy the moment. Breakfast offers two choices each morning with fresh fruit in season, jams, in-house baked brown bread, muffins, juice, and beverage, plus main course. At cocktail hour wine and beer are available for purchase. Take a walk downtown and visit the gardens, or Fort Anne. Take an after-dark guided tour of the cemetary, or spend Saturday mornings in season at the public market. Annapolis Royal is a healing place and Hillsdale House initiates the experience. Innkeepers Val and Paul are super people.

Room Tip: Each room is unique, even the one where King George V stayed while he was still a prince. The Inn si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This house is definitely more an "inn" and less a "B&B" due to its size, but all the same, it was a wonderful stay, and the breakfast was great. The house is like a comfortable museum - beautifully decorated with antique items, but you don't feel like you're in a "no touch" zone. The hostess was super friendly and extremely accommodating, especially when we told her we would miss breakfast because we had to leave a little early to go whale watching. She and her staff started breakfast early and still fed us a full feast!
It's centrally located, an easy walk to the center of Annapolis Royal but still a bit quiet and tucked away. We stayed in Room 2, which has a wonderful bed (comfy and quiet) and a large free-standing tub perfect for soaking in. The only complaint is that we're a bit sensitive to noise on a road, and this room is at the front of the house, so you can hear the cars moving along. However, the house is set back from the road, so it's not a considerable annoyance, and there is not much that the Inn can do about that. As it is, they do have an AC unit in the room, so it's easy to keep windows closed.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a great free standing bathtub and a comfy and quiet bed. You don't share a wall with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at the inn while exploring Annapolis and Digby area. It is a wonderful inn with helpful hosts. The hot breakfast is great. The room was nice, clean, and very spacious. The location is walking distance from area's restaurants and walking tours. We stayed in room 10 and I would definitely recommend that room!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsgrove, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

While traveling in Nova Scotia, with one other couple, we were fortunate to have found, by an on-line search, and reserved rooms in the Hillsdale House before we left home. The Inn was beautiful, the hostess welcoming and the rooms comfortable and spacious. It was a quick all sidewalk walk to the town center for a tour of the Fort and dinner. A very nice restaurant (Compose') was recommended for dinner. A great breakfast was served in a very pleasant dining area. The Hillsdale House Inn would be highly recommended by our entire party.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hillsdale House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillsdale House Inn

Address: 519 St. George Street, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia B0S 1A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Annapolis Royal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hillsdale House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our distinctive inn is located in historic Annapolis Royal minutes from one of the oldest European settlements in the New World, Port Royal. Built as an Inn in 1859 the Hillsdale House has catered to many famous persons, including George V of England in 1884. The Inn has a long standing tradition of providing gracious accommodations set in idyllic surroundings. Our 13 guest rooms are all individually decorated with antiques and all have private en-suite baths. The property offers an estate setting on 12 acres of land with mature trees, manicured lawns, and fine gardens. Hillsdale House Inn is just a short walk to a number of shops, restaurants and attractions, such as the Annapolis Royal Historic Gardens, Fort Anne National Historic Site and the O'Dell Museum. We are also just a short drive to the Habitation at Port Royal, a national historic site, and the shores of the Bay of Fundy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hillsdale House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillsdale House Hotel Annapolis Royal
Hillsdale House Inn Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillsdale House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.