We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Notes from a satisfied customer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillsdale House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hillsdale House Inn to your Saves list
Hillsdale House Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   519 St. George Street, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia B0S 1A0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Halifax
1 review
“Notes from a satisfied customer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Were given a good welcome and useful information about the area on arrival.

Had a comfortable night here and the breakfast was absolutely delicious. The Inn is situated close to the Historic Gardens which we really enjoyed visiting. As a first time visitor I was favourably impressed.

Room Tip: We were able to get a comfortable room with 2 single beds which for 2 female travellers is difficult...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    29
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
235
30
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Three girlfriends traveling together stayed one night in July 2011. We booked this inn because of its status as a favorite B&B of Trip Advisor readers, and we were not disappointed. Our room had two twins and a pull-out sofa. It was crowded with the sofa made into a bed, but would have been spacious for only 2 people. Bathroom was small, but had a skylight which provided wonderful light. Room was quiet. Breakfast was very nice and we opted to sit at one of the large tables which gave us a chance to meet some of the other guests. The inn is an easy walk to garden, fort, and downtown. We wish we had planned a second day in Annapolis Royal.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed here for three nights in June as part of a trip to Nova Scotia. Annapolis Royal is rich in history with plenty to do and see from the scallops in Digby to the great markets in town. This B&B is perfect for complimenting your trip to the area, great breakfast and comfy beds. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Although we always stayed in top-rated lodgings, we found Hillsdale House Inn to be the most beautiful property of our 3-week trip through the Atlantic provinces of Canada. (We peeked into the Inn's many exceptional rooms awaiting their occupants!) Sleeping in the same bed as a past king of England was fun, as were our visits to Fort Anne and the Habitation at Port Royal. Unfortunately, we had an early ferry across to St John, NB, so we were not able to enjoy their famous breakfast. Hours after we left the Inn, we discovered that my wife's cosmetic bag, containing $4000 worth of jewelry, was missing! We quickly called and were assured that it had been found in our room and would be returned to our home by insured postage---and not to worry about the cost to do this ($47)!!! Such a good feeling to return home and find all her jewelry intact and undamaged. Thank you, Val and Paul.

Room Tip: Read about each room online and make your selection, although we found the rooms much nicer than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax Ns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Stayed for one night when I was travelling to Annapolis Royal for work. Great little room, very quiet in spite of the fact that the Inn was full to capacity. Very nice breakfast and accommodating owners (I needed breakfast earlier than normal hours and this was fine). Nice mix between the personal atmosphere of a B and B and the "come as you please" feel of an Inn. Would definitely stay again. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Val and Paul went out of their way to make things very comfortable and pleasant for us. The Inn was beautiful, very clean and breakfast was delicious.
Thank you Val and Paul for going the extra mile and for all of the little extras you did for me with an injured foot.

Chris and Greta (Ontario/U.K.)

Room Tip: All of the rooms are very nice. To choose which is best for you, check the inns website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

This house is beautifully restored. Our room was tastefully decorated. Breakfast was delicious with fresh banana muffins and the owners were pleasant. Highly recommended. This was one of the highlights of our trip!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hillsdale House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillsdale House Inn

Address: 519 St. George Street, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia B0S 1A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Annapolis Royal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hillsdale House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our distinctive inn is located in historic Annapolis Royal minutes from one of the oldest European settlements in the New World, Port Royal. Built as an Inn in 1859 the Hillsdale House has catered to many famous persons, including George V of England in 1884. The Inn has a long standing tradition of providing gracious accommodations set in idyllic surroundings. Our 13 guest rooms are all individually decorated with antiques and all have private en-suite baths. The property offers an estate setting on 12 acres of land with mature trees, manicured lawns, and fine gardens. Hillsdale House Inn is just a short walk to a number of shops, restaurants and attractions, such as the Annapolis Royal Historic Gardens, Fort Anne National Historic Site and the O'Dell Museum. We are also just a short drive to the Habitation at Port Royal, a national historic site, and the shores of the Bay of Fundy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hillsdale House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillsdale House Hotel Annapolis Royal
Hillsdale House Inn Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillsdale House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.