We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Candlelight graveyard tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Annapolis Royal Candlelight Graveyard Tour

Annapolis Royal Candlelight Graveyard Tour
295 St. George Street | Fort Anne National Historic Site, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia B0S 1A0, Canada
902-532-3034
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The award-winning Candlelight Graveyard Tour in Annapolis Royal has been one of the most highly recommended "must see" attractions in Nova Scotia since 1995. Sponsored by The Historical Association of Annapolis Royal, tours of one of the oldest English graveyards in Canada are held every Sunday, Tuesday and Thursday evenings between June 1 - Oct 15 at 9:30 pm (rain or shine). Meet at the parking lot of Fort Anne National Historic Site, and don't forget to bring your sense of adventure!
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Candlelight graveyard tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The graveyard tour was very interesting. The guide was most informative. School-aged children would enjoy this tour.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
DeLand, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Night to Remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Although the day was rainy, it cleared up by evening for our night time graveyard tour. Holding candlelit lanterns, our group followed our Acadian host through the graveyard as he told us the history of some of the residents, the town and Nova Scotia. It was a great time, he was charming and knowledgeable.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis Royal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Show In Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

From the time you arrive and meet your congenial host who is in character you are taken back in time. The Candlelight tour is a must for all our summer guest to our summer home, which means that I take the tour 2 to 3 times every summer and every time is like a new adventure. The first things our guest bring up about their time with us is the Candlelight Graveyard Tour........

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montague, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great outing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was by far my favorite attraction to take in on our journey along Nova Scotia's South Shore. The Host was very personable and informative on the region and its history. We learned alot, the tour lasted about 1 1/2 hours and it was very interactive. It made our stay in Annapolis Royal quite memorable. I would recommend this attraction to anyone interested in the area's rich history.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Not Your Usual "Ghost" Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I have taken this late-night tour twice and would gladly do it again. This is not a hokey "ghost" tour that relates sitings of local ghosts, but a tour of local Acadian history, illustrated by the dates and names on the tombstones, some of which date to the early 18th century. Alan Melanson, the tour guide and an Acadian himself, leads you through the cemetery in his traditional attire, weaving tales of Acadian experience under French and British rule, which culminated in their expulsion from Canada. Despite Britain's efforts to deport all Acadians, many remained and survive in large numbers today, proudly flying the Acadian flag throughout the Maritimes. Those who are buried here during that time, French, British and Acadian, are silent witnesses to that tortured history. Alan is a first rate guide and worth talking to after the tour as well.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Annapolis Royal Candlelight Graveyard Tour also viewed

Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
Halifax, Halifax Regional Municipality
 

Been to Annapolis Royal Candlelight Graveyard Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Annapolis Royal Candlelight Graveyard Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Annapolis Royal Candlelight Graveyard Tour to your Saves list