We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King George Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added King George Inn to your Saves list
King George Inn
548 Upper St. George Street, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia B0S 1A0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Annapolis Royal B&B and Inns
Menlo Park, CA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the King George Inn for two days while we explored the Annapolis area. We can very strongly recommend the Inn. The building is centrally located, but still very quiet. The rooms are well decorated and comfortable. Faith, the Innkeeper, does her job with a religious fervor. She was wonderful at recommending things to see, making dinner reservations, and generally making our trip a pleasant one.

  • Liked — Comfortable rooms, great service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    12
    3
    6
    6
See reviews for
17
63
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
PA
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2008

Very nice place to stay! We enjoyed our time there...room was excellent...very clean..almost too many things in the room..very Victorian. Faith was a great hostess...breakfast was delicious! Would stay there again in a minute! Location was across from Historical Garden...easy walk to town...

  • Liked — Qality of room for price compared to other local B&Bs.
  • Disliked — Strict breakfast schedule!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2007

Catching up on posting some reviews for older hotel stays.

We thoroughly enjoyed a few days stay at the King George Inn in Annapolis Royal. Having never been to this town before we came into the village after a long drive and noticed all the old historic Victorian homes. Much to our surprise and pleasure the King George is one of these local treasurers!

We were greeted by the innkeeper who attended to our every need. She was keen to share her knowledge of the area with us and help us with planning our daily activities. Surprisingly there is plenty to do right in Annapolis Royal that you can even walk to. One night we joined a haunted graveyard walk that was quite the experience!

Breakfast is served in the house's formal dining room and was a great start to the day. On our last day there we needed to depart very early and we were specially prepared something to take along with us on our way.

We had the opportunity to stay in two different rooms - which gave us an even better taste of the inn. As pictures can sometimes tell a thousand words - you have to stay here in person to get the feeling for the real experience as a picture doesn't do it justice.

  • Liked — Quaint, quiet and intimate
  • Disliked — Too far away from home
  • Stayed August 2003, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

We agree most whole-heartedly with all the positive reviews. You will remember this B & B!! Faye is fun and her dog is very cute. She immediately made us feel welcome, and treated us like royalty, way beyond any other B&B we've stayed in ever. If you stay in Annapolis Royal, you'll love the King George Inn.

  • Liked — The Queen Victoria Room and Faye's sense of humor
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2007

Grand Victorian amongst others on the main street of historic Annapolis Royal. House full of Victoriana. Appropriately and comfortably furnished halls and rooms. Scent free, non smoking policy. Large room, comfortable bed with luxury bedding. Private bath immaculate. Full breakfast in formal dining room. Well educated owner former gym/calculus teacher turned bed and breakfast manager/owner/interior decorator/entrepreneur. A hoot to stay here. Would recommend to others as a fun experience and a good value.

I loved visiting Annapolis Royal's historic sites, took a night tour of the old cemetery, visited the hydroelectric plant, visited the special gardens, had a very pleasant meal in the friendly pub next to the farmer's market. Would recommend Annapolis Royal as a must place to visit time and again. Rich in important history and historic preservation is strong here providing a charming, sedate atmosphere to experience.

  • Liked — Location, price, the experience, full healthy breakfast
  • Disliked — Front steps needed painting
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2006

We spent two nights at the King George Inn in Annapolis Royal at the end of July, 2006. The Inn is very beautiful, well maintained and within easy walking distance of historic areas and restaurants in Annapolis Royal. The innkeeper, Faye, is a terrific hostess! She called both of us by name when we arrived, walked us through the rest of the inn in addition to showing us our room and gave us the chance to select the time we wanted to have breakfast the following day. Faye has to be the friendliest, most helpful innkeeper in Canada. She gave us great advice on places to visit and willingly makes all necessary reservations for her guests.

Although the inn is located in an old historic building, our room was very up-to-date with a nice sized and modern bathroom. Faye's breakfasts succeed in achieving the rare feat of being both very healthy and very tasty. Fresh raspberries and blueberries, homemade jams, homemade muffins and homemade granola were available as well as hard boiled eggs, delicious pancakes and an assortment of cereals and yogurts. Faye found out that my wife prefers Diet Coke in the morning so she made a special trip to the store to make sure my wife got her morning Coke fix.

  • Liked — Very charming Inn with a great innkeeper
  • Disliked — no complaints at all
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't skip breakfast
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2004

We had the opportunity to stay at the King George at the end of August for 2 nights. We were treated like a King and Queen. Beautiful house full of antiques . Very quiet . We were treated to a sit down breakfast both days and were asked every evening at what time we would like to have breakfast. A bit of the history of the Inn was told to us while we ate. Our Innkeepers Faye and T.C. (the pup) were both very entertaining... We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this Inn to anyone wishing to learn about the history of the King George Inn and Annapolis Royal Area plus also enjoy having a host that is very witty and shows lots of humor... We will return !

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to King George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George Inn

Address: 548 Upper St. George Street, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia B0S 1A0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Annapolis Royal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your King George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King George Inn Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King George Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.