We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely finish to the Valley Wine Tour !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria's Historic Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wolfville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Victoria's Historic Inn
Save
You added Victoria's Historic Inn to your Saves list
600 Main Street, Wolfville, Nova Scotia B4P 1E8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Wolfville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nova Scotia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely finish to the Valley Wine Tour !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Great to stay once again @ this B&B, it's been a couple of years since we were here. This time both ourselves and another couple were able to have rooms in the Carriage House. We were upstairs in the Hunter room which was quite spacious, decorated in theme, and even came with bathrobes, a very nice touch.
Breakfast was amazing; hilights were freshly squeezed apple juice, delightful presentation and of course very tasty food. I would like to also add that our host did offer to provide an earlier breakfast for us if we had to depart before 8am.
Location is perfectly central, so easy to take in activities at the University or the downtown core.
Already planning to stay there again in February.

The Muzzeralls

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noel W, Owner at Victoria's Historic Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your review and kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return in the new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    49
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
43
86
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Antigonish, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Our stay at Victoria's Historic Inn was terrific. Each of the rooms is charming in its furnishings, comfortable and lovely hot shower and amenities. We had 2 ground floor rooms in the Carriage House. The main building has the breakfast room which is elegant with a delicious full breakfast included in the room price.

The Inn is very conveniently located on Main Street just a block from Acadia and the main downtown area. The viewpoint and small park at the end of town is not to be missed to see the Fundy tides and marshes. The Annapolis Valley with its wineries, apple orchards and great roadside markets is close by and just a short drive to the Grand Pre' area.

I highly recommend this Inn for a wonderful experience of elegance at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are available. Rooms in both the Carriage House and the main building are beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noel W, Owner at Victoria's Historic Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We've stayed 3 times in the last year and it has always been lovely. if i could make one suggestion it would be to change the breakfast hours. 8:00 AM is rather late for a start time. We ended up getting muffins and coffee from the Tim Hortons down the road. Sometimes even people on holiday need to get going in the morning! The only other comment is that the beds are VERY high! The combination of thick modern mattress's/box springs and antique beds means anyone under 5'5" has a struggle climbing in (never mind kids or the elderly)..... maybe footstools like many other inns provide?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noel W, Owner at Victoria's Historic Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We have experimented with various breakfast hours and 8:00 am to 9:30 am is the general hours but we always ask if the guests need earlier or later sitting times. With our business guests we start breakfast many mornings at 7:00 am. During peak periods we extend the hours so the guests do not feel rushed at breakfast as we have to accommodate more people than our dining area can seat. A good point with some of our 4 poster beds. They are high and as a result of your review we have added stools which we now offer to guests. Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This is my favorite place to stay when in Wolfville. The staff are very friendly & accommodating. The hot breakfast is a perfect start to the day. I should rephrase, this is the only place I've stayed, and will continue to stay, for my accommodations in Wolfville!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Now I lived in Wolfville for years so this was a treat being able to visit and stay. Victoria's comfort and value was wonderful. A glass of wine on the back lawn and a comfortable bed is all I can ask for in a place to stay. A walk downtown to one of Wolfville's incredible restaurants like the Library Pub adds to the appeal of the location. A bit of exercise up the hill and you can access one of the most beautiful campuses in Canada. Don't miss the KC Irving Centre - a facility open to the public year round. The icing on the cake is the treatment you receive from the staff - they just can't do enough to make your stay memorable. Not a bad experience for a business trip!

Room Tip: I stayed in one of the Carriage House rooms it was quite and parking is just outside the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The Victoria's Historic Inn was comfortable and very clean. We had a good sized ensuite room in the annex building which provided a private entrance and was very clean . The staff was very helpful with planning for our "Fundy Tidal Bore" experience. Breakfast was elegantly served, delicious and most satisfying. Our visit to the university town of Wolfville was made all the more enjoyable by our stay at Victoria's.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noel W, Manager at Victoria's Historic Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your review. It was our pleasure to assist with local activities and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our town and facilitates. Hopefully we will see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This Victorian mansion looks welcoming and the main rooms are lovely -- BUT the sleeping rooms are musty and feel like 1950's redos with your grandmothers floral bedspread. I love this area of Nova Scotia, but would not return to Victoria's.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noel W, Owner at Victoria's Historic Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I have never had a comment that our rooms are musty and we pride ourselves in the cleanliness and care for our Inn. If we had known you were unhappy with your room we would have moved you to a more suitable room. We pride ourselves in our customer service and if something is wrong we strive to make it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria's Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria's Historic Inn

Address: 600 Main Street, Wolfville, Nova Scotia B4P 1E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Wolfville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Wolfville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While in Wolfville, stay at Nova Scotia's luxurious 5 star Bed and Breakfast Inn. This Victorian-designed home and carriage house is a landmark in Wolfville and has been providing lodging and welcoming guests from around the world for 50 years. We are proud to be a member of Unique Country Inns of Nova Scotia. We are here to serve you and make your stay a memorable experience.The Inn was built in 1893 by William Henry Chase, a businessman known as “The Apple King” and is a prime example of late Victorian architecture. It has many unique structures especially the stain glass windows on the west side of the main building.The Inn is just a 5 minute walk from Acadia University and a 10 minute walk from downtown with multiple restaurants and boutiques. We are located in the heart of Nova Scotia's burgeoning wine industry, with over half a dozen vineyards within a 20 minute drive. All are surrounded by some of the most scenic landscapes Nova Scotia has to offer. See Attractions for details on things to do in the area ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Victoria`s Historic Hotel Wolfville
Victoria's Historic Inn Wolfville, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria's Historic Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.