We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel experience ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harwood House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wolfville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harwood House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Harwood House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
33 Highland Avenue, Wolfville, Nova Scotia B4P 1Y9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Wolfville B&B and Inns
San Ramon, California
1 review
“Best hotel experience ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I have stayed in many great hotels around the world, this little family owned B&B has certainly given me best experience. The host couple is super kind and helpful. They try really hard to prepare breakfast, even asking you what time you'd want to have the breakfast.
If you want to visit Wolfville and the area, there is an added value to stay here, because the couple is so warm and knowledgeable, they hand draw maps and itinerary to show you where to visit.
In a way, coming and staying in this house itself can be a wonderful tourist attraction if you plan to visit the region.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
37
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

What a wonderful stay we had at Harwood House B&B. Peter and Frances were wonderful, our breakfast was fantastic (homemade bread,cinnamon swirls,homemade jam,omelettes, fresh fruit salad and awesome homemade granola), and our room was perfect. We stayed in the Evangeline room which had a sunroom added on. We only live 1.5 hrs from there -if that -but we decided to hike Cape Split (awesome experience) and wanted to stay at a B&B. This was our first time staying at a B&B and we will be back, overall wonderful experience, Thanks so much Peter and Frances. If you get a chance this is the place to stay when in Wolfville!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I have a very strict diet and they were so insanely helpful to make me the perfect breakfast. Frances and peter were the nicest people I've ever met - please, please go and enjoy!! The food was gerat - the place was very very clean - and most importantly the company was absolutely great. I couldn't recommend this place any more!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

If you ever get the opportunity to travel to Wolfville, you MUST stay at Harwood House B&B. Frances and Peter are wonderful hosts who go above and beyond to treat their guests like royalty. The accomodations (and house) are beautiful and spotless. The breakfast was absolutely delicious, and everything was homemade. My husband raved about the granola and the fruit salad our entire trip. Also, Peter and Frances took extra time out of their day to sit with us and map out a portion of our trip, providing us with advise as to where to travel, eat and stay. You simply cannot go wrong by choosing to stay at Harwood House.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Spent a night at Harwood House and found it to be delightful. Frances and Peter were knowledgeable about the area and happy to give sightseeing and restaurant recommendations. Breakfast was delicious, with a Rhubarb bread to die for.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We cannot say enough wonderful things about Peter and Frances and their lovely B&B! The room had everything we could have wanted, the B&B was decorated beautifully and the owners could not have been more accommodating. Because of our early start breakfast had to be served early and what a breakfast it was! Homemade rhubarb loaf bread, homemade granola, delicious fruit bowl (with in season blueberries and raspberries), breads and a lovely frittata. Yum! We only wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

If you are ever in Wolfville Nova Scotia you must stay at the Harwood House Bed and Breakfast. My father always wanted to go to Nova Scotia so we went. We made very few reservations and just planned the next day at the end of day current one. Our travels took us to Wolfville, by chance the GPS sent us to the Harwood House B&B. THANK YOU Garmin. Peter and Frances are the nicest, most accommodating people I have ever met. Their place is fantastic. My dad had the room with the larger sitting area, couch, chairs, little fridge and great windows. My room had a very nice sitting area but if you get the chance, take the larger one it was great to have a drink in. And speaking of a drink, we arrived after a long day of travel and were ready for our afternoon tea, that would be a vodka and soda, we ask Frances were we could get ice, she said she would bring it up. By the time we went to the car took our luggage to the room there was a tray in my dad’s room with an ice bucket, napkins and two crystal glasses for us to enjoy. After a walk around town and dinner we were back at Harwood House, where Peter and Frances were so helpful in planning our next day’s adventure. After a wonderful night’s sleep we had the best breakfast, prepared by Frances and Peter, all hand made from local goods. After breakfast Peter had two maps for us that showed our next day’s adventure. And what a great guide he is, we saw some amazing sights that day.

Thank you Peter and Frances!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harwood House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harwood House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 33 Highland Avenue, Wolfville, Nova Scotia B4P 1Y9, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Wolfville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wolfville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off busy Main Street, adjacent to Acadia University campus, our Home is surrounded by beautiful gardens. Three guest rooms have very comfortable queen beds, private bathrooms, TVs, telephones and ceiling fans. Wireless high-speed is complimentary. The breakfasts are truly exceptional; everything, including bread, is home-made. We also offer travel assistance to anyone eager to explore the back roads. Our efforts have recently been recognized in Frommer's Guide. Comfort, Relaxation and warm Hospitality await you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harwood House Bed & Breakfast Wolfville, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harwood House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.