We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice people and nice room.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages to your Saves list
Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages
260 Water Street, Shelburne, Nova Scotia B0T 1W0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shelburne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
caribbean
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“nice people and nice room.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

In driving around Nova Scotia we found everyone over the top friendly and MacKenzie's was the same. We had the best room upstairs with a full kitchen, electric fireplace, large bathroom all done in pine! WOnderful.

Room Tip: Upstairs suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    28
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
44
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canfield Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

From the time we arrived till we left we we treated like royality. The cottage was spotless and fully equipped. We saved money on eating out because of the lovely kitchen facilities. The continental breakfast was awesome and hit the spot every morning. The entire staff were very friendly and caring. The location was excellent for many of our day trips, centrally located so you can have the time of your life all around Nova Scotia and then return to your cottage for a swim, or use the barbacue provided. These people know how to make sure you have a memorable stay. They set up the boat tour and made sure we got on the right one so our little boy could do some fishing on board. This was the best holiday we have ever had and planning to return next year.When we arrived and saw how lovely the cottage was we stayed even longer than we were suppose to. THE CUTLER FAMILY FROM ONTARIO

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Spent a year working across the province and driving to different towns from Halifax. Out of all the hotels, motels, inns, and B&B's this stop was my favorite. The owners are great people and very friendly and helpful with finding food. Out of the 4 seperate times I stayed there I was in the upstairs room 3 times and one of the cottages once. The upstairs room was very comfy and large, with a HUGE bathroom. The cottage had satellite, flat screen TV, 2 bedrooms, a great bathroom, a small deck overlooking a pond and kitchen. It was never a problem checking in later (after 9). The breakfast was good each morning and checkout was a snap. From someone who traveled for a living this place was my favorite! Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Great little motel, I want to come again. Sad I didn't bring a swim suit, next time I will not forget. We stayed in room #11, it's a great room with patio doors to the pool. The whirlpool tub is great, big enough for two ;-). This room is on the road, but the traffic at night is very minimal. After 10 or 11 didn't hear a car. The cottages are nice too, but I love this room the best.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

In May '12 my Dad and I were sailing into Shelbourne, and we ran our sloop into something i like to call "The physical manifestation of the great back of the ocean floor." We lost the keel, our vessel sank, we were rescued, and the RCMP took us to Mackenzie's to dry out. There are few friendlier places than Shelbourne, even the baby duck outside our cottage made an effort to be our friends! We had a great breakfast in the main house complete with our own copy of the local paper The Shelbourne Coastguard, which had an article on the sinking of Paper Moon... unforgettable! Be sure to check with the owner as to the current rules on fishing too, when we were there you could catch five cod per person per day... it's been a long time since that's been legal! If you're looking for the real Atlantic Canada experience, you've come to the right place. I'll be going back to Mackenzie's, taking a GPS, and snorkeling the spot we sank. I'm sure there's a granite boulder with red paint on it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages is a very pleasant place to stay. The staff provides a clean and comfortable experience as well as a great conversation at breakfast which was included. As a business traveler, I found the facility to be equipped with reliable and fast wifi. I plan to bring my family here in the summer to stay a day or two, swim in the pool and enjoy the beautiful, historic sites of Shelburne.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I stayed at MacKenzies on and off for the better part of a month while working in Shelburne. I stayed in both the upstairs suite and the yellow cottage. Both were beautiful! The upstairs suite had a amazing jacuzzi tub and full kitchen. The yellow cottage definitely seemed to be the newest, had tons of space, a deck that looked right on it's own little pond and again a full kitchen and great bathroom.
Jim and Sandra were wonderful hosts and even introduced me to my first taste of moose. I would definitely say this is the place to stay in Shelburne! I'm already planning on going back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages

Address: 260 Water Street, Shelburne, Nova Scotia B0T 1W0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Shelburne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shelburne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MacKenzie's has been family-owned for decades and offers the best of Nova Scotia's intimate cottages, affordable motel and luxury suites in a park-like, brook-side setting in a great location in the centre of town... something for every taste and budget! Free breakfast and wireless internet is included in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackenzies Hotel Shelburne
Mackenzie's Motel And Cottages Shelburne, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.