We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, a bit noisy and breakfast fare was a disappointment.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Rock Country Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nova Scotia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castle Rock Country Inn
39339 Cabot Trail | Ingonish Ferry, Nova Scotia B0C 1L0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #227 of 453 Nova Scotia B&B and Inns
Westborough, MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great views, a bit noisy and breakfast fare was a disappointment.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

This was my second trip to the Castle Rock. My wife and I found the views off the deck to the sea below magnificent. We were on the bottom floor, room 16, which is actually the basement. The room was fine, however, it was below the dining room which has hardwood floors. The staff were cleaning up, moving chairs, moving tables, etc. around 10PM and it sounded like Grand Central Station above our heads until around 10:45PM. In the morning, the kitchen staff noise provided for an early wake up. Our first trip a few years ago, breakfast was ordered off a menu and they had some wonderful, fresh breakfasts. This trip, no menu. They had a 6' table off to the side of the dining room with some cereal, a loaf of bread and toaster, jams, some fruit and yogurt. It was sort of sad looking. I will say their dinner menu was very good and they have a nice selection of premium wines. This is still a nice place to stay but they're not quite as good as they could be.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    24
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
12
36
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

We stayed here in the month of July and everything about this inn was perfect. Great views, friendly staff, good food.. We loved every bit of our stay.. This place looks much prettier than whats given in their website..

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blooming Grove, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

This was the most exquisite Inn I have ever been in. The views of the sea and the surrounding hills were just amazing. We saw pods of whales everywhere we drove and the owners were just so lovely. The room was spotless; the food fantastic; the service could not have been better. From 1 to 10, I would give them a 10! This truly was a wonderful experience all around. It was so romantic....I felt like it would be a beautiful place to have a wedding or event. I LOVE the CASTLE ROCK INN and wholeheartedly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2008

On a recent trip to Cape Breton, Nova Scotia we made an exceptional find: The Castle Rock Country Inn in Ingonish Ferry. Location is everything. The view from our room as well as the dining room, lobby and outside deck is an astounding combination of ocean and mountains. The service and food were great(try the seafood chowder) as was the hospitality. The owner/operator Kim was helpful with information and hooking us up with local activities.
We took two magnificent hikes. One on nearby Middle Head Peninsula and another on the Highland Trail about an hours drive away. We spent a day ocean kayaking and a great evening listening to music at the Glenghorm Pub in nearby Ingonish. We went on a whale watch, saw dozens of pilot whales and beautiful coastal views.
For what you get the prices at The Castle Rock Inn are very reasonable. Bob and MaryAnn Paterniti

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2008

This was my first-ever trip to Nova Scotia, Canada. We landed in Halifax and drove from there to the Castle Rock Country Inn, which took about 4 hours, on very good highways, and we only encountered about 2 stop lights on the trip.
It's a small, country inn, two floors, with a magnificent view of the ocean to the east. It has a nice restaurant, and everything is very peaceful. The main purpose of my trip was to play golf at the Highlands Links golf course which was only 5 minutes away and is reported to be one of the best golf courses in Canada -- and it was, indeed, a great golf course.
I plan to go again.

  • Liked — Proximity to the golf course
  • Disliked — Can't remember anything
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

We stopped here for 2 nights during our honeymoon in Nova Scotia. The Inn has a wonderful view on Ingonish, meaning you won't be in Ingonish, but a 10 minutes drive. You will have to take the car for anything: eating, walking, swimming etc. The Inn itself had nothing wrong: nice rooms, fully equipped, friendly staff. We found it quite pricey, though, compared with other options we found on along our itinerary. The price was justified because we had an upper level oceanview room, which I can understand in a way. The breakfast - continental - was a little bit too limited in choice.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — all the rest
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

Let's get the good bits out of the way - the Castle rock Inn has fantastic views, is in a fairly quiet cliff-top location and is clean, with a nice (but not outstanding and not cheap!) restaruant for dinner and has free internet access. The kitchen staff were also very helpful in letting us into the kitchen out of hours to sterilise baby bottles

Now the gripes:
- the rooms are very small, with dated and tired furniture and are not soundproof at all - we had the continual noise of music from the dining room during meal times, plus the bathroom fan from a downstairs room loud enough to wake our baby!Others in our party had the stereo from the kitchen blaring trough the floor, plus our neighbours undoubtedly heard any cries from our baby (since we could hear their TV), making us feel uncomfortable
- while we pointed out that the gutter was leaking outside our window creating a continual racket on the first of 3 fairly rainy nights at the Inn, nothing was done resulting in 3 very bad nights sleep. This lack of service also extended to another member of our party who's lack of a working lock on her door (sometimes locked in/sometimes couldn't lock it!) was met with "it works eventually if you keep trying".
- breakfast is a shambles, i have never seen such a pathetic breakfast spread - 5 pieces of cold bacon and a rind of cheese were the only things on offer the first morning other than cheap cereals, toast and rock hard mini-muffins. not good enough for $173 plus tax a night!
- at dinner, no-one was able to recommend anything in terms of wine. I don't expect a sommelier in Cape Breton but they were promoting their Nova Scotia wine list, but completely unable to talk about! Advice was also lacking on something to in the area when it was raining heavily - "a sort of museum about fish" was the best we got. Again, it's not the tourist information office but still!

An updating of the rooms, greater effort at breakfast and paying more attention to customer complaints would improve the rating, but too many frustrations to warrant the money spent. If I'd paid $100 for this "cheap motel with a view" experience fine, but $173 is way too much

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — the accomodation itself
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castle Rock Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Rock Country Inn

Address: 39339 Cabot Trail | Ingonish Ferry, Nova Scotia B0C 1L0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #227 of 453 B&Bs / Inns in Nova Scotia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Castle Rock Country Hotel Nova Scotia
Country Inn Nova Scotia
Nova Scotia Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Rock Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Castle Rock Country Inn to your Saves list