We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fish. But not $40 a plate good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bullocks' Bistro

Bullocks' Bistro
3534 Weaver Drive, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2J6, Canada
867-873-3474
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 57 Restaurants in Yellowknife
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good fish. But not $40 a plate good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

About 25 seats, one cook, one waitress. The service is fine, if a bit brusque. The fish is yummy, the atmosphere is interesting, though subdued, but at the end of the day $95 bucks for a plate of pickerel, a plateof char and two beers is just too much. Guess I paid for the experience. Once only.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    132
    42
    11
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Funky and expensive but the fish was great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We were taken here for lunch by a local. We were a group of 16, and the place is tiny and as my title indicates funky. We squeezed in filling all the tables not already occupied, and the bar too. There were only three choices, Arctic Char $39.95, a cod at $21.95 and I believe a whitefish at 29.95. I'm not positive about the last. Considering that we all came in together, without reservations, it had to tax the staff. Still we were served as quickly as one could imagine and the Arctic char I had was fantastic. A vending machine was a help yourself thing for drinks, unless you wanted a beer and they had to give that to you from the same refrigerated unit. I wanted a darker beer and had a Scottish Ale for $10 though the price was unknown at the time I chose it. Total it up. Yep, $50 for lunch for one. (Slightly more in US $ due to the exchange rate. If you want a look inside go to Bullocks Bistro Yellowknife on Youtube where someone has posted a video.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“some of the best fish you will ever have”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

this restaurant makes you feel like you are in the bush and is not very fancy but I have had some of the tastiest pickerel and whitefish here - the chips and salad is great and we even got to sit on the patio -

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Pay alot for unbelievably bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

As an "iconic" restaurant in YK, I have tried to enjoy myself at this restaurant a few times. It seems as if they are relying on a reputation from yesteryear. The menu is extremely overpriced and the service is worthy of a Candid Camera episode. So bad. Just today colleagues took clients there for a scheduled lunch only to be told "I dont care what we told you on the phone, we aren't serving food right now". I won't go back and I won't encourage my customers to either.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Best fish in Yellowknife”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Not the cleanest or best food handling practices (the cook serves up salad with the hands that just placed steak on the grill - no washing seen!) but definitely the best fish we had in Yellowknife. The atmosphere was entertaining - small town rough neck bar with occasionally serve yourself beer from the fridge. It was exactly what i pictured from the reviews on TripAdvisor. Not worth missing!! Best tartar sauce found to date too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bullocks' Bistro also viewed

Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
 
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
 

Been to Bullocks' Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bullocks' Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.