We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend you try this Bed and Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embleton House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yellowknife
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Embleton House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Embleton House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
5203 52-St, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 1T8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 Yellowknife B&B and Inns
Rainbow Lake, AB, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommend you try this Bed and Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

Small appearance from the outside is very deceiving. The rooms in the B&B are spacious and bright. They are remarkably clean and quiet. The suites have a kitchenette, a large jet tub, fireplace, sky-light, a computer and their own seperate bathroom. They are beautifully decorated.
Embelton is right down town so you have easy access to everything you could possibly want and the hosts can tell you the sites to check out.
We went for a quick weekend getaway but definitely could have stayed much longer and would return to this B&B should we go back to Yellowknife. It is priced similarly to a hotel room but has so much more to offer.
Cannot recomment this B&B enough.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    6
    0
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
9
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Playa Coronado, Panama
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

My mom and I went to Yellowknife to celebrate my 50th birthday. Our hostess, Faith, knew it was my birthday and had a birthday bouquet in the room and a card for me. It was a really lovely gesture and just a hint of a shadow of a glimmer of the other delights in store for us. If you tend to avoid b&bs, give this one a try. The rooms have separate entrances and fully stocked kitchenettes, so you can have a private breakfast at your leisure. The rooms are extremely well-insulated and we were comfortable in shorts and tees. Our room was spotless, comfortable, nicely furnished and decorated with paintings by Faith (she's a surprising woman with many talents). The house is unassuming from the outside, but once you're inside, you're transported to a magical spot in this charming town. Faith and Ken run the b&b, and seem to do it all. My mom and I went to Yellowknife in hopes of seeing northern lights. We asked Faith and Ken to call us anytime during the night if they spotted them (yes, they are visible from the street). One night seemed particularly promising, and since they were going to Ice Road for a look, they invited us. We saw displays of ghostly, shimmering green lights.

My mom and I have stayed at lots of b&bs and have fond memories of most of them, but what was particularly striking about Ken and Faith as hosts, is their sense of wonder and enjoyment of the beauty and nature around them, and appreciating it anew with their guests.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

I usually stay in hotels when I travel. As my purpose in going to Yellowknife was to pick cranberries I needed a place with a freezer. I had heard that Embleton House was good and decided to try it.
The proprietors were super friendly and helpful. The price per night was reasonable. It was also quite a bit cheaper than any hotel.
The B+B was spotless. The bedrooms weren't gigantic but big enough for one or two. There was a kitchen area with a table/chairs/TV/internet. You cooked your own breakfast. All items were placed in the fridge daily. You cleaned up after yourself. There was also a small living room area.
I can only speak for the one/two person area but I know there were larger suites available.
There was a deck/patio and BBQ area available for use to renters.
I very much enjoyed my stay. I would highly reccommend it.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hay River
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2005

The Embleton House B&B is fantastic. We stayed in the Sunrise room, which has a lovely in-room tub and fireplace. There is high-speed internet access in the room as well.

The hostess Faith is very nice and takes care of each and every detail. The B&B is extremely clean, with beautiful decor.

I have stayed in a number of B&Bs but was surprised that one of the nicest ones was in Yellowknife. I will never stay in another hotel in YK again as long as there is space at Embleton house.

Stayed November 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2005

Tripadvisor reviews steered us to stay in a B&B in Yellowknife rather than a hotel. Thank goodness we did. Although we did not go into any of the hotels, they appeared to be sterile boxes with tiny windows.

We sometimes shy away from a b&b, preferring the anonymity of a hotel, but realized we would benefit from a local's recommendations in a town such as Yellowknife. Our hosts, Ken & Faith, provided us with a full schedule of the Caribou Carnival and friendly hospitality. We were in one of the new rooms that had a kitchenette, tv, dvd, and computer. The frig was stuffed with a great assortment of foods for breakfast. We had a separate entry too. The b&b was located a couple of blocks from the main street and four blocks from Frame Lake.

We shared coffee one night with Ken and Faith and learned so much about life in this unique area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embleton House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embleton House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5203 52-St, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 1T8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Northwest Territories > Yellowknife
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Yellowknife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embleton House is an award winning B&B located in the heart of down town Yellowknife. It offers 4 self contained Luxury Studio Suites as well as 3 Standard private B&B rooms. It is loaded with extra amenities to please the best of die hard travellers, and is quite, clean, comfortable and affordable. The hosts of this B&B are well connected in the business community and willing to offer lots of great tour and entertainment tips. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embleton House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.