We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent restaurant for a hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rumpelstiltskin's

Rumpelstiltskin's
2 Hill Of Chips, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada (Downtown)
(709) 579-6000
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 307 Restaurants in St. John's
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
upstate NY
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Decent restaurant for a hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We traveled with a group, so the menu we had was limited (read: among the cheaper offerings). Thus this review does not cover the entire menu. We ate there for 3 dinners and 3 breakfasts. The breakfast was buffet style, and didn't vary from day to day. The fresh fruit was good, the eggs sunny side up, and there was a choice of 3 meats. Cold cereals, yoghurt and juices were also available. Dinners were average with no special seasonings, and the garlic mashed potatoes had little garlic flavor. Desserts were good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    44
    26
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good food, nice view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Even though we arrived after noon, I was still able to order from the brunch menu. The staff is very friendly and pleasant and the restaurant atmosphere was nice although dated. There is a nice view of the harbour while enjoying your meal.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good for an in-hotel restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The menu is nice and the staff is friendly. This is above the cut of many in-hotel restaurants. The view is great and food was fresh and well-prepared.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North America
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Good menu selection, very nice location overlooking the harbour, good parking and good service and tasty food.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Good food; good view; very comfortable seating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Located in the Quality Inn, this is a much better restaurant than one usually expects in a hotel. We had two dinners here, at the beginning and end of our two week stay in Newfoundland...as well as two breakfasts at then end of our trip when we stayed at the hotel. The meals were always very good although I'd put the overall level higher at dinner. Pan fried cod and seafood chowder were very good; deep fried cod was good; mussels were excellent. The service was always friendly but sometimes the wait between visits by the server seemed interminable. At one breakfast, I waited for a full 30 minutes for an egg sandwich to go even though I had ordered it at the same time as my own breakfast and was told it would be out in "five minutes" when my breakfast arrived. I started wondering if the kitchen folk had walked off the job! Prices are very reasonable especially for a hotel restaurant, and serving sizes are more than adequate.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rumpelstiltskin's also viewed

 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Rumpelstiltskin's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rumpelstiltskin's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.