We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portobello's

Portobello's
115 Duckworth Street, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
709-579-7050
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 313 Restaurants in St. John's
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Central Newfoundland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This restaurant is one of the best I've ever dined in. Eight of us had a wonderful meal. The service was unsurpassed and food was pure quality.
Unlike some fine dining restaurants, the portion size was not postage stamp-sized. You will leaved feeling satisfied.
A couple small criticisms, which in no way hurt our experience: the music was too loud at times and other parties in our section were trying to speak over the music. Also, we were at a round table pushed into a square corner. The person sitting in the corner - me - was a bit uncomfortable and forced to lean into the table.
I will visit this restaurant whenever I get the chance.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    59
    19
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“great experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great views, great service and great food! Any of the fish dishes were fresh and tasty. Try the cod tongue - though not something I would normally eat, it was good. The servers were all so friendly and eager to help you make a dinner choice.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAINT JOHN
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent view and atmosphere, and delicious meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The location is excellent, right beside the hotel we were staying in. We had a great view from our window table upstairs, and could watch the harbour activity while we ate.
The special was a great chicken dish, and the starter salad was excellent. The food was on the pricy side for the dishes we ordered, but not outlandish. The server was friendly and accomodating, providing exactly the right amount of attention to us. Our group all had excellent meals and enjoyed it very much. I wouldn't hesitate to return, and I look forward to my next meal at Portobello's.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbour Grace, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Save room for dessert.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Friendly service + great seafood dishes! I had the salmon with pesto goat cheese on it, and it was good, as were the roasted veggies with it. The best thing about my meal was the dessert, which was an orange creme bruleé that tasted like Buried Treasure ice cream! If you're feeling nostalgic for that flavour, ask for it! This place doesn't look fancy inside, but has a lot of lovely pictures of Newfoundland on the walls. One whole wall is glass, so you have a view of the harbour if it's a clear day. Don't go on a rainy-foggy day like I did! Even though we had reservations for lunchtime, they chose not to seat us at a table with a view. Hmph.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, NL, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tasty food-nice view...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The blackened halibut was delicious! Barely touched the sides as the fish portion was a very good size and so tasty that was all I wanted to eat!!! Our waitress was very attentive.
Our table was by the window, so we enjoyed the view of the harbour. A great way to spend a Friday evening!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portobello's also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Portobello's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portobello's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.