We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good menu on New Year's Eve” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral Street Bistro

Cathedral Street Bistro
2 Cathedral Street, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
709-738-5293
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 301 restaurants in St. John's
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Mount Pearl, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good menu on New Year's Eve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Went here New Year's Eve, first time at this restaurant since they changed their name from the Casbah to the Cathedral St. Bistro. Always liked the ambiance here, from the second floor overlooking the bar area below.
For NYE, we had to choose from a set menu (with a set price), not a large selection but adequate (I suspect these items are all available from the regular menu). At our table the salmon, beef tenderloin and lamb were consumed and enjoyed (although the tenderloin was cooked a tad more than was asked for). Warm bread that was served first was very fresh and desserts were also tasty. The scallop appetizer was also tasty however was not quite warm enough (I assume they were precooked and heated again in an oven).
Our server was polite and attentive.
Overall, we enjoyed our dining experience here and will likely make a return visit in the not too distant future!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    30
    28
    9
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Marginal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I don't know why a restaurant would put anything scented at a table that wasn't food. Each table has a small oil lamp full of scented oil lit and while subtle, it definitely effects the taste of the food.

The food itself is average. It is overpriced for average food. I tried three dishes and was left with an overall feeling of meh. Nothing new or exciting came across my plate. The pasta was okay, the bread was reheated with very salty butter and the dessert was good. In the past, I have not had a cold creme brulee, though it might be a thing here.

The atmosphere of the restaurant promises more than the food can deliver. The service is decent; it is neither excellent nor terrible.

This would be the kind of place you could take someone on a date if you wanted to show that you had money but didn't really know how to spend it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This is a great restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

First of all, this restaurant is so cute, it is perched on the side of a really steep hill, is brightly coloured and attractive and is about a 2min walk from downtown St. John's. Although the outside is quaint the inside is very modern with a hip vibe. It is two stories and at first we thought it was empty but that is because most of the tables are on the second floor and that is where most people want to sit, overlooking the bar and main floor.
The service was great our waiter was friendly and funny, the food was amazing, we had delicious appetizers (apple pecan salad and scallops- amazing!) and mains (salmon and short ribs).
Would definitely go back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise, NL
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous Dining!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We just happened to stop into this restaurant as we couldn't get in to any of our regular spots. There were not too many people there when we arrived but it soon filled up. Service was outstanding. All three of them tended to everyone. You didn't just have the one waiter/waitress. Food was great. My husband had the shrimp appetizer and loved it presentation was good. We both ordered the Black Angus Beef and it was tasty, really good roasted potatoes. We didn't have dessert we were too full from the main course. I have to say we will return and we didn't have a groupon for this one.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A friendly place w/ excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Very good fish and beef. Cooked as requested. Excellent flavor. Excellent presentation.
Good wine. Great desserts.
Very helpful and pleasant staff.
A very nice night out with the significant other.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral Street Bistro also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Cathedral Street Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral Street Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.