We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Spa day like no other” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ryan Mansion Boutique Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. John's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ryan Mansion Boutique Hotel
Save
You added Ryan Mansion Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
21 Rennies Mill Road, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 3P9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in St. John's
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A Spa day like no other”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Did the Spa Indulgence package over Christmas 2011. Treated very well. The decor was amazing and inspiring, there was a great sense of the history of the building.The staff was lovely, relaxed, welcoming and professional. We had facials and massages. The time flew. It was a bit pricey but a fabalous treat. Highly recommend. Parking easily found in the triangle parking lot across the road. Though we didn't cop it until leaving!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    3
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
15
63
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Stunning Boutique Hotel, Beautiful Rooms, Great breakfast, Great location, Lovely linens, The Spa Lived Up To Its reputation TRULY ROYAL TREATMENT

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NJ
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

We looked forward to our stay in St John's. The Ryan Mansion's ad's website and Select Registry's inclusion led us there. We loved the room, sadly it was too much work to get us settled in. We arrived to find our room not cleaned, bed unmade. The Flight to St John arrives very late, 11PM, so there was no excuse for our room not to be ready. The lone employee explained he was unable to take care of the room and we would need to settle for a different room. We had to carry our own luggage up two flights of stairs and across two long hallways, The room he led us too was subpar and we refused to stay in it. The room we had reserved was posh, large and had many amenities. We were paying the Inns top rate. There was no apologies made nor a foray to make up our ordeal. We stayed one night and asked to be released from the remainder of our reservation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

I decided to give my sister and I a treat for our birthdays because of a Groupon offer. I booked massages and facials for us on a Saturday afternoon. First, they were so accommodating and friendly when I made the initial appointment, and that service carried on throughout our visit. The building is breathtaking - beautiful and tastefully decorated - from the private lounge to the treatment rooms. The spa staff were professional but warm, and the treatment (both massage and facial) were exceptional). Attention was paid to every detail, including a miniature floral arrangement on the floor under the massage table for when you were "face down". The experience was worth every penny and more. We'll be going back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Ryan Mansion for 3 nights in mid September. The only negative thing I could say is that it is very hard to find on your first visit to St. John's. The signage is small and the house next door has a different address and number so it is very confusing. However, once we found it - it was fabulous. Our room was absolutely lovely with a beautiful jacuzzi bath tub and separate walk in shower. Breakfasts were delicious and very filling. Mary and Nick went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. They suggested places to eat and things to see. One thing that is a must is the Veiled Virgin which is a marble head of the Virgin Mary with a veil over her face - but in the marble. It is exquisite. It is housed next door to St. John's Catholic Basilica where the Presentation Sisters have a house. We also went to The Rooms which is a fabulous museum and neither of these is far from the Ryan Mansion. We ate lunch at a great place called the Healthy Heart just around the corner from the Ryan Mansion and had a lovely dinner at Aqua in downtown St. John's. The location of the Ryan Mansion is great as it only took us about 10 minutes to walk downtown or just a $6 cab ride in the rain. Overall we had a wonderful stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend Ryan Mansion as a wonderful place to stay in St. John's

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

From the moment you arrive in the front lobby to the moment you are greeted in your room with fresh Frete linens, you soon realize you have arrived at an excellent Inn in a vibrant city - St. John's. The Inn provides first class breakfasts, excellent staff & service and a location that is second to none in the city. The heritage quality of the Inn makes it a special place to stay. Good value too considering the high quality amenities.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are of similar quality, fitout and finish. If stairs are an issue, suggest the seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Wonderful inn, beautifully decorated and lovingly maintained with very friendly staff. Delicious breakfasts and afternoon tea taken in their courtyard was a great way to unwind after touring St. John's. We had one of the queen suites with fireplace which was spacious and very comfortable. Recommend highly if you want something special in the way of historical accommodation and a lot out of the ordinary. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ryan Mansion Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryan Mansion Boutique Hotel

Address: 21 Rennies Mill Road, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 3P9, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St. John's
#2 Best Value Hotel in St. John's
#4 Business Hotel in St. John's
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Heritage Bed & Breakfast located across from Bannerman Park, the heritage area, in the heart of downtown St. John's. Within walking distance are many sightseeing attractions, parks, restaurants, shopping and clubs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ryan Mansion Boutique Hotel And Spa
Ryan Mansion Boutique Hotel St. John`s
Ryan Mansion Boutique Hotel Newfoundland, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryan Mansion Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.