We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming restaurant and lovely food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Get Stuffed

Get Stuffed
Duckworth Street, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada (Downtown)
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 307 Restaurants in St. John's
Price range: $16 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Lansdowne, Canada
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Charming restaurant and lovely food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We were able to get a Friday night table on short notice. The main floor room is comfortable but not intimate. The menu is quite unique and varied and there were two daily soups and two daily entrees. We were served a plate of deep fried wonton wrappers with dip before the meal. Very tasty. For starters we ordered the Caesar salad and a rather strange "cordon bleu" appetizer. Nothing exceptional here but not disappointing either. For mains we ordered the cod with dressing and the meatloaf with mashed potatoes and gravy. We ordered the smaller portion which proved to be more than adequate. We also ordered a side of macaroni and cheese. Our only criticism with the mains was that the dressing that came with the cod could have been more flavourful. But maybe dressing served with fish is a local thing and we just weren't attuned to the combination. We passed on dessert.

The service was friendly and efficient. The beer (bottled only) and wine list was more than adequate.

We really enjoyed the overall experience and would definitely return. The prices were quite reasonable.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    85
    27
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Exceptional!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

My wife and I were in Newfoundland for the first time visiting my sister. She actually lives about an hour out of St. John's but also has a place in the city.

We wanted to treat her to a nice evening out for dinner so after some research I decided to take her here. And she enthusiastically affirmed my choice. She had been here before but it had been awhile.

We did have a reservation and had asked for a particular table and we were presented this table as promised....good start!!

Our waitress was superb - Stephanie was informative, witty and very pleasant. We had questions about the menu and the wine list and she was extremely helpful with both.

From the appetizer (calamari) to all the mains/sides (duck breast / stuffed pork / lamb.....mac & cheese / fresh veggies / sour cream mashed potatoes) to the chocolate bread pudding for dessert, all very good indeed.

I would return in a heartbeat and do look forward to visiting this eatery again next time we are in town.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Evening with Friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We have been there twice now with a group of about 16 in the upstairs area which is off on its own and gives a very special select fun dining experience. The menu is always great, I had the duck....great!! There is always something for everyone......we got out of there without any holds backs for about $50 each all in..........great time and great value.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stopped by for lunch. Menu is simple, with adequate choices for lunch Staff friendly and attentive. Location is opposite the NL National War Memorial with a view of the harbour.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Quaint spot with great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stopped in here for dinner with a colleague and friend on a business trip. We were very well received without reservations on a Sunday evening in this converted house, across the street from a/the war memorial. The menu was simple but offered lots of unique choices, and the 3 daily specials made it that much more interesting. I started with the scallops, then the duck breast with sides of bacon-wrapped beans and brown-sugar carrots. My partners both had the seafood pasta special. We all raved about how tasty the food was and were all please with the very personal service. I finished off the meal with a chocolate bread pudding and a coffee...overall a very good meal with great service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Get Stuffed also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Get Stuffed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Get Stuffed, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.