We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue still needs to up its game....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue On Water

Blue On Water
319 Water Street, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 1B9, Canada (Downtown)
709.754.2583
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 306 Restaurants in St. John's
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Continental, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Blue still needs to up its game....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Decided to give it another try after many months since I heard they had some new staff on board.

Went for the weekend brunch, not bad, but not great. I ordered the Eggs Benedict, sauce was thin and runny, hash browns were good.

Overall it was ok, but not worth a repeat as there are better choices in town these days.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    51
    35
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food...a little overpriced.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We read some mixed reviews of this place, but didn't plan ahead and were kind of stuck with finding a restaurant downtown so they were able to fit us in on a crazy busy Friday evening.

Service was really good, and the food was excellent (had the lobster risotto). The portions were an okay size, atmosphere was good, but for the $$$ I don't think it was worth it. There are plenty of other restaurants in the area I'm sure you could get same quality for atleast $10 cheaper/person.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Still hungry”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I took a friend to an early supper. We did not receive any bread before the meal yet a person at the next table was provided this by another server. When we finished our meal we were still very hungry so I had to ask for the bread to sate our appetite The portion for the vegetarian dish was more like an appetizer. It was delicious but very little food. The same with the salmon meal. Not impressed for $100. Will not be revisiting anytime soon.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Blue on Water restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Excellent food and ambiance. The daily specials were imaginative and well presented. Service was friendly and efficient.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One of the nicer spots in St. John's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Classy spot, great drinks - nice service. I do wish they served food a little later, and offered a more interesting menu for the 'bar side' of the establishment. Exciting new drink menu coming soon - we got to preview a couple of cocktails last night which were delicious (Moscow Mule - yummy ginger drink and Pimms lemonade - a 'jazzed up' version of the classic English drink). Very nice and knowledgeable bartenders.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue On Water also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Blue On Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue On Water, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.