We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable, But Nothing Special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of PJ Billington's Restaurant

PJ Billington's Restaurant
106 Airport Road, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1A 4Y3, Canada
709-753-3585
Improve this listing
Ranked #118 of 313 Restaurants in St. John's
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
St. Catharines, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Acceptable, But Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My wife and I went here with friends since they had a Groupon available a while back. First off, I'll say that if it weren't for the Groupon, I probably wouldn't have gone; I'm just not a big fan of restaurants in hotels. And unless I get another Groupon, I probably won't be back.
Don't get me wrong, there was nothing wrong with the food or the service (I was actually a big fan of the fact that they can text you when your table is ready), but there wasn't anything special enough to bring me back.
I had fish & chips, and garlic bread with cheese to start. The garlic bread was ok, but I've had far better at other restaurants in the city. The fish was the good, but again, I've had better elsewhere in the city. The fries were the main downfall of the meal. They were soggy, limp and mostly tasteless. Luckilly, they could be salvaged with a lot of ketchup.
Like I said, it was good enough, but not enough to pull me back without another Groupon or other discount.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    12
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newfoundland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Decent food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This restaurant is consistently good and rarely busy. The service is quick and prices reasonable. I keep going back for all those reasons. Lots of selection on the menu.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, NL
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Much better than Montana's or Swiss Chalet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We went for supper one Friday night. We both had the ribs with sides. It was tasty, the service was great and the prices very reasonable. A great place to go when you want comfort food and a quiet dinner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great view and decent food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Very nice view especially if you can get a seat by the window. Parking is available in the underground garage of the hotel but its tight in there. I had fish and chips and it was decent. Everyone at my table enjoyed their food so I would go back.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
378 reviews 378 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
“Excellent menu selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Visited this restaurant in a group of 6. Service was fast, friendly and server was very efficient and attentive to our needs.

Very good menu selection and plenty of parking.

Our group ordered the personal pizza, 3 orders of the skillet fried Cod, a club sandwich and a chicken salad. All the food arrived at the same time, as ordered and not a single complaint between the entire group.

Decor is dated but that kind of adds a certain level of rustic look to it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PJ Billington's Restaurant also viewed

 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to PJ Billington's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PJ Billington's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.