We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magic Wok Eatery

Magic Wok Eatery
402 Water St, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 1C9, Canada (Downtown)
(709) 753-6907
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 289 Restaurants in St. John's
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
St. John's, Canada
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Always excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Magic Wok always comes through. Another family dinner with new food to try (all good) and the old standbys, excellent. Pretty good service, even though they were very busy.

Only issue is that sometimes our take out has the wrong things in the bag and we don't notice until we get home.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    19
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NL, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“not impressed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I have been here many times over the years and was always satisfied with the food. This trip there was still nothing wrong with what I ordered but other members of my parties Food was not top notch, one person's had a burnt taste to it. Now I will go back again just not with those people, their first experience and they were not impressed.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The best in St. John's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Our favourite place to go for Chinese food, plenty of seating and excellent service combined with the best selection of traditional and canadian chinese food. Great for large groups and groups with varying tastes. Their flambe beef dish = perfection!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Short walk to a fresh dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

After a flight delay and cancellation we went didn't want to go far from the Delta hotel. A couple of blocks away some great Chinese dishes. Very accommodating for spicy requests, was looking for less of it. Was in no hurry and they did not rush things. Combined the shanghai bok choy and the Chinese broccoli, which they suggested. Most of all...fresh! I would go back.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentville, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fresh, tasty and friendly service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Had the crispy duck, fried vermicelli and platter for 2. Service was fast, friendly and efficient. Great coffee afterwards. Relaxing and ultra-clean facility. Food was extremely tasty and you can tell everything is freshly provisioned. Veggies were crisp and had nice taste. All in all a very enjoyable meal and experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magic Wok Eatery also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Magic Wok Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magic Wok Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.