We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best customer service in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   131 Duckworth Street, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 1E9, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in St. John's
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best customer service in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Checked in here for a nine day business stay and continue to be impressed by the customer service each day. Parking lot full? They valet park the car. Light fixture out? Fixed immediately. Need a recommendation for a local shop to change a watch battery? Got it almost instantly. Lovely people intent on making my stay as comfortable as possible. Accommodations fine, not luxe but more than enough for our needs. Great office chair at the desk. WiFi fast and seamless and free. Fitness room small but effective. Laundry facilities for guests. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are so happy to hear that we were able to make your stay enjoyable with our wonderful guest service and hotel facilites! We hope that you are able to back and visit us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    109
    38
    7
    3
See reviews for
51
92
20
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My parents and I stayed twice at the beginning and end of our trip to Newfoundland. The rooms are quiet and the decoration is standard. The staff at the front desk was very nice. There were a few things that didn't work on each visit (TV, hair dryer) but it was all promptly fixed. The location is perfect, right by the harbour.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you and you parents enjoyed your visit with us. We are sorry that you experienced a few minor issues during your stay but are happy that we were able to fix them promptly. Thank you for staying with us, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The Courtyard by Marriott in St. Johns, NL is typical of the Marriott great service but with the extra flair for hospitality and warmth that Newfoundlanders are known for. Nothing was too much trouble for the front desk staff. They made me a hair appointment, organized a taxi, suggested local restaurants, cancelled the hair appointment (when my schedule changed) and then made a new one. All with a smile and a willingness to serve which was excellent. The room is lovely, overlooking the harbour and the bed very comfortable.

Room Tip: Spend the extra to get a harbour view - you will see lots of interesting action from the boats and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your great experience with us. We are delighted that you were able to experience such exceptional customer service; our front desk team is certainly wonderfully hospitable! Come back and visit soon and allow us to exceed you expectations once again! Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott St. John's!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

About 20 minutes away from the airport, but still a good location. Plenty of places to eat nearby and the waterfront is interesting to look at. If you're a Marriott fan, you know what you're getting, But what makes this Marriott stand out is the friendliness of the staff. Shari who checked us In and gave us advice about local attractions was especially helpful. I highly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your review! We will pass along your comments to Shari, she is a wonderful representative for our property. We hope that you are able to stay with us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Hotels in St. John's seem overpriced and this one also fits the bill. However, the location on Duckworth Street is great. The area is not noisy and is a walking distance from the shops, restaurants and many hikes as well. Our room looked out over the docks, a bit industrial but very picturesque. The room was of a generous size and very clean. Free wifi was great. Parking is a little limited so grab a spot if you find it. The Smitty's restaurant in the hotel provided good value for breakfast. The staff were very accommodating and friendly.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about our property. It sounds as though the location, on site restaurant and our clean and spacious guest rooms worked well for you during your stay. Please come back and stay again soon, it was our pleasure to have you with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel July 11 & 12/2013.......The manager and staff went out of their way to accomodate us.....freshly baked cookies await you at check-in....large clean rooms with exceptionally comfortable beds! Great location....easily accessable to major tourist attractions and Smitty's restaurant is right on site. Located next door to Portebello's. Harbour view from our room.....Guest laundry was available and the little extra's that traveller's might need (toothbrush, toothpaste, laundry detergent, bounce sheets) were freely offered by the staff!

Room Tip: we had a junior suite overlooking the harbour.....lots of room !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on our spacious rooms, ideal location, delicious cookies and convenient ammenities. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Courtyard by Marriott St. John's! Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you visted St. John's, come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Our family stayed at the Marriott Courtyard St. John's for 1 week at the beginning of July. From the moment, we arrived the staff were very attentive and helpful. We had a great room overlooking the harbour and they made every effort to make sure that we were comfortable. They always greeted us and asked us how our day was. They made great recommendations for restaurants and scenic areas. The room itself was very clean and lovely. The only minor issue we had was that the washroom could use some updating, but otherwise we were very happy with the room. We had a refrigerator and microwave which was very convenient. The hotel location is great...close to all downtown shops and 5-7 minute drive to Signal Hill. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning again!

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review! We are thrilled that you and your group had a great stay with us and that our team was able to provide you with our trademark exceptional service. Thank you for choosing to stay with the Courtyard by Marriott St. John's, we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland

Address: 131 Duckworth Street, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 1E9, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive and award winning hotel ideally located in the downtown business, entertainment and historic district; we are a short walk to Signal Hill and the famous George Street. Beautiful selection of renowned Harbour view room and suite options. On site Smitty's Restaurant and lounge. Complimentary wireless internet and parking. We invite you to experience true Newfoundland hospitality combined with the highest of standards you have grown to trust in a Courtyard by Marriott Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott St. John`s Newfoundland Hotel St. John`s
Courtyard St Johns
Courtyard St. John's
Marriott St. John's
St Johns Courtyard
St. John's Marriott
St. John's Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott St. John's Newfoundland Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.