We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place that feels like home, but with the privacy you want!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hometel on Signal Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hometel on Signal Hill to your Saves list
Hometel on Signal Hill
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   10 St. Joseph's Lane, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1A 5V1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 24 St. John's B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“Great Place that feels like home, but with the privacy you want!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

I recently got married in St. John's and myself as well as my grooms party stayed there. We rented 2 full houses (which each had individual hotel rooms). We had an absolute blast!!! It was continently located less than a 5 min walk from downtown. The service was great and the houses were cleaned top to bottom everyday

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    59
    16
    13
    5
See reviews for
12
56
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Very pleasant, clean room close to signal hill and downtown. Breakfast was a plus and parking was ample. I would definitely stay here again. The area and other guests were quiet and it felt muhc like having our own place rather than staying in a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parede
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

You check-in in one guilding and then you step outside and look for the building where you'll be staying. It's the opposite of the large high rise typical hotel building and the result is a feeling of living in a nice quiet street where your neighbors are reaally the locals.
The room was spacious and bright and breakfast was self serve, meaning you have to make your toasts and set the table, among a wide sort of guests - old and young.
A short stroll and you are downtown. In fact the hotel is downtown with the ambiance of residential neighborwood.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade for a lrger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was a lovely room for the price, which they honored even though the res was not in their system. The room was comfy though tiny and not roomy for two. The staff was great and quite helpful and very generous with their time and directions. Would stay there again in the future. Loved being on Signal Hill and close to the town center.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Excellent and helpful check in, very good size room and bathroom all very clean and a good continental breakfast. I stayed on the 3d floor and never heard a peep (should probably request the 3d floor). Good location and if going to George St to hit the Pubs cab fare is ony $8 each way. Well worth the fare!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

St. John's is fogged in and your flight has been cancelled.. every hotel you call is sold out, but Adam tells you that if you're really stuck he can sell you a parlor room with a sofa bed - Priceless and beats spending the night at the airport! The description of the room was absolutely correct, it was a small room with a sofa bed, chair, television, small closet and tiny bathroom with shower. The furniture was a bit tired but the room was clean and the location was excellent. A short drive to downtown St. John's as well as the airport. No, I couldn't sleep on a sofa bed for more than one night but I'm sure the regular beds are more comfortable. The room was really just basic but the fact that Adam was so kind to offer a traveler in need and the young lady the next morning arranged for an early checkin made the dismal day much brighter!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hometel for 3 nights at the beginning of our trip to Newfoundland and 1 night at the end.

We initially booked with the Hometel due to the low cost - some rooms were only $99 in the month of May (although I'm sure they increase during high tourist season) - which is hard to beat in St. John's. Our room was located on the 3rd floor and we found it to be very clean and modern. The room isn't huge but it was definitely big enough for the two of us. I've read that some people complained about noise issue, but we never heard anything even though there was another couple staying in the room next to us.

The location can't be beat as far as I'm concerned. We were perfectly located for our morning hike up Signal Hill and were within a 10 minute walk to restaurants and bars downtown. We only had to use our car when we left the city.

The breakfast was good too, just a normal continental breakfast with coffee, juice, toast, cereal, muffins, hard boiled eggs, yogurt and fruit. It's quick and easy. I always appreciate not having to go out and buy a breakfast when I'm on vacation.

My only complaint is that the WiFi had a weak signal and was unpredictable. I was able to use my laptop, but it was quite slow and sometimes lost the connection. I was never able to really connect to the wireless from my iPhone since the signal was so weak, so I had to rely on 3G.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to St. John's!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hometel on Signal Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hometel on Signal Hill

Address: 10 St. Joseph's Lane, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1A 5V1, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hometel on Signal Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled safely downtown on historic Signal Hill - Newfoundland's # 1 Tourist attraction. Steps to Cathedrals, Theatres, Museums, Fine Restaurants, Shopping and St.John's Harbour. Flexible check-ins, luxurious bathrooms with extensive lighting, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, soaker tubs, hi-speed internet, computers and faxes, luxurious linens, scrumptious breakfast, free long distance. free local calls, free parking, air conditioning, ultimate cable 62 channels, in-room mini fridge, free daily local and national newspapers. Unbeatable off season rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hometel on Signal Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hometel On Signal Hill Hotel St. John`s
Hometel On Signal Hill Newfoundland, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hometel on Signal Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.