We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Capital Hotel

Capital Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Capital Hotel to your Saves list
Capital Hotel
208 Kenmount Road, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1B 3P2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in St. John's
Appleton NL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Check in was overly professional almost a little cold. Upon entering the room it appeared to be clean, when I entered the bathroom which was separated from the sink and mirror,I immediately noticed that there was one bath towel on the top rack instead of the standard 2-4 thought it was a little odd kinda made me feel like the room was not finished. I will admit I am picky because I work as a housekeeper myself. Overall the room was clean, the layout was odd, the only garbage can in the room was out by the hallway door under the sink, not in the actual bathroom area, the basket of goodies available for purchase in the rooms in the room is a nice touch and I can see how many people buy into that. There is no mini fridge in the room, and no way to keep drinks or snacks cold overnight. The room had two double beds , my dad is 6'2 and he his feet were hanging off the end of his bed and myself at 5'6 also thought found the beds to be short. The next morning I got a bath and the drain plugged. The girl at check out was so friendly and professional, we checked out early around 7 am, she also helped us with directions. Overall it was a decent and very basic stay, I have stayed at nicer hotels in the area with better service and amenities.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
9
8
4
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

This is the hotel I stay at for work trips...sometimes. The room set up is like an old school hotel/motel.

PROS:
The rooms are clean
The beds are very comfortable
The lounge and restaurant are great! (Good food and service)

A few minor items I would suggest to management of this hotel are as follows:
CONS:
As a 'girl' the toiletries supplied here SUCK. A shampoo, 2 very small bars of soap and 1 shower cap are provided. That's it, and they are terrible. (Only the shower cap is good). I don't use the shampoo or soap, they are horrid. I acknowledge the have actually improved the soap and shampoo since my first visit a few years ago but they are not useable. Bring your own. Period. Every other hotel I have ever stayed at I use the soap and shampoo.
Business center...couldn't print a boarding pass for West Jet, the area is literallyt size of a closet (only 1 oerson could 'fit'). No chair at computer. Just weird.
Front desk staff are not overly welcoming or friendly. They did say to be sure all dial them if you needed anthing (and I did twice), but I found they were not personable and seemed rushed. I think some work on friendliness would help. Both times I called with a minor question they seemed quick to end the call...never asking " is there anything else I can help you with?" kind of atypical for Ast. John's.

I would stay here again if my coworkers do as well, but personally I suggest to stay down the road at a different hotel due to the crappy toiletires (say what you may) and cold atmosphere. The place is clean as a whistle and the food is GREAT at a decent price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This hotel was just OK. I would only stay here again if all other hotels in the area were full. The water in the sink drained very, very slowly. Some of the towels should have been thrown away months ago. The binding on one towel was worn to the point that it was fringed all around the edge of the towel. I thought it was the bath mat until I turned around and saw the bath mat draped over the edge of the tub. The second night the sheets were pilly and it was like sleeping on sand. (Now they could have been pilly the first night but I was exhausted as our plane arrived late and we just fell into bed and passed out.) The second morning the tub filled to the overflow. When I pulled the plug to drain out a little water the overflow spewed a gross amount of brown grunge into the tub. (and I have a picture of the disgusting grunge but will not post, just picture in your mind disgusting goop) I drained the tub, scrubbed it as clean as I could with shampoo and a bar of soap and refilled it with fresh hot water. On a positive note, lots of hot water and good water pressure. Our biggest complaint was with the "complimentary high-speed wireless internet access in all rooms!" As in a previous post someone mentioned it was hit/miss. Our experience was that it was more miss than hit. We went to the front desk and asked to be moved to a room that got better wifi connection and were told that all rooms were the same. They gave us a cable to plug in our laptop which did squat for our ipads. We plugged in the laptop and it was as bad if not worse than what we had experienced without the cable. We were booked for 5 nights at the Capital Hotel but after the second night we checked out and went to the Holiday Inn. I would highly recommend the Holiday Inn. Get a room overlooking the pond and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

stayed two nights, second stay-over in past 4 months. Thought maybe it was just a one-time problem but, like first time, internet leaves much to be desired. Wireless is hit/miss. so bring a cable. Fitness centre is underequipped unless you just like treadmills and cyclers. room ok, restaurant just ok but several chain restaurants are nearby. probably try another hotel next time just to compare.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Vincent's, NL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I love the pasta dishes served in this restaurant.The service was very good;not too long of a wait for food.All of my friends enjoyed their meals as well.The hotel itself is just ordinary with little Newfoundland charm that visitors enjoy.To get people here they need to have something extra which will make their hotel stand out from the rest on Kenmount Road.I go there for the food.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Was there on business.
Check-in was quick.
Room was ok but nothing special. It seemed to be clean but didn't really look it which maybe was the carpet.
Food was good at the Jack's restaurant but service was not very fast and there were a couple mistakes on the orders.
The group meal / buffet they served was pretty tasteless.
Like another review says it's a typical Steele Hotel.

Room Tip: Not sure there is a room that is better than another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephenville, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

This hotel is very conveniently located near major shopping centres, and business centres. The staff are exceptional. We found the food at the restaurant very good. The staff at the restaurant and front desk have worked there a long time and remember their customers. The rooms were always clean.

Room Tip: If you like the quiet as for a room at the back of the hotel instead of facing Kenmount Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hotel

Address: 208 Kenmount Road, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1B 3P2, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St. John's
#8 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hotel St Johns
Capital Hotel Newfoundland, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.