We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Meal Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Reluctant Chef

The Reluctant Chef
281 Duckworth St., St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador NL A1A, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 313 Restaurants in St. John's
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Meal Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We recently dined at the Reluctant Chef and I had the best meal of my life so far, and I am a foodie who dines out frequently.
The staff were friendly and the setting was cozy. We had a five course meal with wine pairing which was absolutely divine. The sommelier was extremely knowledgable, making some untraditional pairings that worked very well with the food.
Every course that we ate was exquisite and and the portions were a perfect size. I woke up the next day and couldn't stop thinking about the food!
We dined at two other highly rated restaurants on this long weekend and I can tell you that the Reluctant Chef is in a class of it's own. You must go here!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    17
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Meal & Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Great service!
We did the wine pairing which got a little pricey, the pairing costs more than the meal, but overall a wonderful experience. The staff knew the food and wine well, it was an intimate environment and well worth the money.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Fabulous Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We live downtown but don't eat out a lot as we are both decent new-aged cooks. This was the second time trying the Reluctant Chef. We had to go back to see if there was consistency. It was the same as before if not better. Everything was fabulous. The food was sublime. A five course feast. We were both very pleased. Because my wife doesn't eat red meat, the chef fixed something different for her with only a few minutes notice. Smooth.
The service was great. (Biggest proportional tip we ever left). - Enough said.
The wine list complements the food on that night's menu. Impressive!
All in all. A great night out. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Stimulate your senses!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The Reluctant Chef is a very pretty restaurant. I had 4 delicious courses and a lovely glass of wine. Everyone was kind and welcoming. I can't wait to eat there again!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A must for true foodies......exciting to the senses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We tried this place last night as a special anniversary night out, and it was fantastic!

We felt like we were visiting with a very gracious family who wanted to "Wow" us with their hospitality and finest fare. And we were indeed wowed.

Everything one could ever ask for from a first class restaurant, without the pretense. This may have been our first visit......but, it certainly won't be our last.

The menu was so creative and exciting to the senses it made each course an adventure. Our server was the most amazing "Simone". She was perfectly attentive and so friendly we truly felt relaxed. We treated ourselves to the wine pairing service and would highly recommend this if you want to take your dinning experience over the top. The house Sommelier is a gentleman named Scott. His passion for all things wine, as well as, his friendly personality added exponentially to our gastronomic experience.

Thanks so much Simone and Scott for making our anniversary dinner one to remember. Kudos to the folks behind the scenes as well, Tony and Chef Mike, for making it all possible.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Reluctant Chef also viewed

 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to The Reluctant Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reluctant Chef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.