We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Beer Brewery in NFL!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quidi Vidi Brewery

Quidi Vidi Brewery
35 Barrows Road, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1A 1G8, Canada
(709)738-4040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 85 things to do in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Best Beer Brewery in NFL!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Met NFL locals at supermarkets on the island. They all highly recommended us to try Quidi Vidi. So at the end of our trip before flying out St John, we went to visit the Quidi Vidi Brewery.

We were so lucky and met David, owner of the Quidi Vidi Brewery. He took us a personal tour of this small beer brewery at 0830 in the morning. It was supposed still not yet opened!! In the afternoon, we returned again for a beer tasting tour which cost us $15/person. The tour was good and we were able to know the history of the brewery and most important, we could try all different beer products from this little beer brewery. We love it!!

It's a pity that Quidi Vidi Beer is only available in some local supermarket / shops in NFL. If traveler has a chance to come or pass by St John, they should try this NFL beer or take a beer tasting tour at the brewery here. CHEERS!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    41
    11
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mount Albert ON
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“PICTURE PERFECT QUIDI VIDI”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stopped at the Quidi Vidi Brewery to buy a 6 pack of Iceberg Beer for my Dad. The steep narrow hill down to small parking lot is not suitable for Ford pickup trucks to turn around!!!!! Great place for photos of the scenery! We didn't take time for the tour. Gift shop for brewery souvenirs. It is worth the short drive from St. John's to Quidi Vidi!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beer is vastly overrated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The walk to Quidi Vidi is absolutely essential, the location of the brewery wonderful and charming, the people near the dock friendly as heck. Definitely worth buying a half-sack and sampling the local wares and unique scenery. Having said that, the beer, and I tried them all, is meh. Lacking in character and complexity and, in the case of Iceberg, more tourism than taste. Yellowbelly is a better choice for beer-lovers.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great Venue and Great Beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Visit this on a Friday evening from 5:30pm and be entertained by an impromptu performance of various musicians that play for beer and have a good time performing. The beer is great here, 8 choices to entice you. The setting is magical over the water and a good time is guaranteed for all :)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lac La Biche
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Tucked away in St. John's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great little place to go and visit. You can walk from downtown if you like to walk or take a cab. There are walking trails around Quidi Vidi, one which will take you to the Battery, another one you can take to Signal Hill if you are adventurous. if you like beer then do the beer tasting for 15.00, you get to taste 7 beers, go when there are a few people lined up, more beer to drink.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quidi Vidi Brewery also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Quidi Vidi Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quidi Vidi Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.