We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Murray Premises Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Murray Premises Hotel to your Saves list
Murray Premises Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Beck's Cove | Box 208, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 6H1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Green Bay, WI
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2005

We arrived in St. John's after a week of exploring the Irish Loop, Trinity, etc. We had reserved a room at the Delta and realized it was very generic and overall disappointing. We happened upon Murray Premises and booked a room immediately. The staff is excellent, the rooms are beautiful, the complimentary breakfasts are perfect, and the location is a block from George Street! It's the best! We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    72
    33
    12
    3
See reviews for
13
141
7
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2005

We loved the Murray Premises! We had a beautiful room overlooking St. John's Harbour. It's a very unique and beautifully restored Heritage Building that was originally a Fish Market. The breakfast that was included in the room price was very good, and the service at the hotel was great! If we ever go back to St. John's we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else!
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2004

They did an excellent job of renovating and yet preserving the historical structure of the building. Hotel was very quiet and peaceful. A great resting place for holidays. The room attendants did an excellent job cleaning the room each day.

Best part though were the HEATED towels in the bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2003
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2003

Excellent room, friendly staff, extremely comfortable bed, and great atmosphere. A thoroughly enjoyable stay I intend to experience again as soon as possible.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2003

We arrived in St John's at 11:00pm Sept 7 & had a room reserved at the Fairmont. It is a very disappointing hotel for a honeymoon, so we set out to find another hotel.

The doorman at the Fairmont recommended Murray Premises. So we thought we would try it out.

Woow!! We got an amazing room. It overlooked the harbour, had a fireplace, whirlpool tub etc.... It was perfect...The staff was excellent. We had complementary champagn delivered. It was just perfect. We will be back to celebrate an aniversary.

Carol & Jon Morris Barrie, Ontario

Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Murray Premises Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murray Premises Hotel

Address: 5 Beck's Cove | Box 208, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 6H1, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#1 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Murray Premises Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown St. John's on the harbour front you'll find Murray Premises Hotel. Nestled in the heart of St. John's business district, close to all amenities - restaurants (2 independent located inside the hotel), shopping, night life and tourist attractions. Murray Premises Hotel is walking distance from Mile One Centre, St. John's Convention Centre, Historic Signal Hill, and the exciting night life of George Street. All guest rooms have luxury items such as electric fireplaces, oversized whirlpool tubs, and towel warmers. The Hotel's Executive Rooms offer guests luxury accommodations with two-person air massage tubs, full-body showers, stone fireplaces, and heated floors. All guests can enjoy our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast in our private lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Murray Premises Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murray Premises St Johns
Hotel Murray Premises
Murray Premises Hotel Newfoundland, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murray Premises Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.