We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Stop.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocket Bakery and Fresh Food

Rocket Bakery and Fresh Food
272 Water Street, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
(709) 738-2011
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 307 Restaurants in St. John's
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Brockville, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A Must Stop.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I've read some of the other reviews and listened to the whining. Get over it (or yourself). The food we partook of was exceptional, but I really went for the desserts. The desert menu is a little limited which I'm good with; that way I got to try everything twice (plus take aways). I've had the privileged of enjoying deserts across most, if not all of North America and these rate right up there.
Kudos.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    98
    15
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great Place for Breakfast/Lunch or Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We just ate here lunchtime and it was very Good! I had the Schiacciata (Rocket’s Pizza) – $5.95 it was bacon, pear and monterey jack cheese and a small greek salad. My Auntie had the Quiche and my uncle had the Devilish Bread Pudding Cakes (they’re made with their croissants!) – small ($16) & large ($24) he had the small see photo and managed half :)

Highly recommend for atmosphere and good cakes and coffee!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quaint and Fresh!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

What a cute place!! Friendly staff, great location, and great food. It is a great place if you do not have a lot of time; but also great if you have LOTS of time. They prepare your food in front of you, so everything is fresh!! If you love Coffee, you have a choice of many coffees - their desserts, snacks, and goodies, are "awesome"!! The best of all is the Bread Pudding!! It is simply the best Bread pudding there is - better than my Mom's, which is what I make at our house - wow!! I have a lot of tasting and testing to do before I will ever make Mom's recipe like the Rocket's! Be sure to visit this restaurant if you are in St John's.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, good prices and fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This bakery/coffee shop/ bistro has a terrific selection of well priced menu options. Everything we tried was delicious. Happy place and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“mmmmmmmm....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Fresh baked goodies and great coffee in a wonderful cozy atmosphere. Also, features canned products and prepared meals. We just dropped in after a stroll and sat and devoured cinnamon rolls and a coffee. Outstanding!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocket Bakery and Fresh Food also viewed

 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Rocket Bakery and Fresh Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocket Bakery and Fresh Food, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.