We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rocket Bakery and Fresh Food

Rocket Bakery and Fresh Food
272 Water Street, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
(709) 738-2011
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Bakeries in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
St. John's, Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I'm embarrassed to say but we had lunch on Saturday and Sunday at Rocket Bakery. I love the sandwiches and they are so fresh. The coffee is really good too. My only complaint would be that I don't find the deserts to be sweet enough. I would love to see a big old slice of chocolate cake. The deserts tend to be healthy and I like to sin every now and then. I have never been disappointed in eating at this establishment. I love the atmosphere! While eating there on Saturday we watched three small kids having a tea party in the window. They were so quiet and had no problem entertaining us. Great location and I would recommend it to everyone but I don't want to wait in long line-ups when they become famous.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    106
    16
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Decent Service, Food Has Potential”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Atmosphere is fun as it feels like an outdoor cafe in a rural farm community. The layout using a separate dining room works well to keep the hustle of the take out lunch/coffee rushes in a different area.

Service was alright. When not busy the staff were attentive and friendly but when busy some didn't really interact with customers in an efficient and courteous way. One concern is that some of the staff weren't confident about the contents and quality of their food. If you have food allergies, just stick to the coffee to avoid any worries.

The menu and food offering looks great but they fall short in some ways. Pulled pork on sandwich bread is fine but should be on a nice crusty bun. The coffee is brought in from another province but if they worked with a local roaster it would amp up the flavour in their coffee and espresso.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fresh, quick, and quaint!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

After a week of eating out,finding this little spot was a treat! Fresh, not fussy, and tasty! Cafeteria style, but lovely atmosphere and staff were sweethearts. The owner was working the line and more than helpful and friendly. A definite return for lunch while exploring downtown.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Decent food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We went for lunch one day and had a couple sandwiches with salad. It was good. Nothing exceptional for us but I know some just absolutely love it. The sweets are plentiful and were good as well. We wouldn't go back but I know it's a hot spot for the community so good on them !!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rocket - Wonderful bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Great selection - fresh baked goods. Rocket has a wonderful location and is just perfect for that little mid-day pick me up or for a quick freshly prepared sandwich at the end of the work day.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocket Bakery and Fresh Food also viewed

 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Rocket Bakery and Fresh Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocket Bakery and Fresh Food, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.