We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Raymonds Restaurant

Raymonds Restaurant
95 Water Street, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 1A5, Canada
709-579-5800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Raymonds Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 313 Restaurants in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Corner Brook, Canada
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Loved it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We went with the 5-course tasting menu with wine pairing. What a great dining experience!

The servers are top notch. It's almost like a stage performance. The food was presented by our server & then the sommelier immediately followed with a presentation & explanation of the wine she paired to that dish.

The food was amazing, as was its presentation on the plate.

Not a cheap night but well worth the experience. We loved it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    40
    15
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Newfoundland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Yup, it IS the best restaurant in Newfoundland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We went on a Saturday night, 9pm reservation. That was all that was available at the time due to demand and once you sat down you forgot all about the time!

The menu is changed constantly (so I could tell you what we (4) had but it may not be there when you are) and that is a good thing since we have been there a few times now and always impressed. The wine list can be pricey, however there are some cheapies on the list as well. I can't wait to go back again just to try more of the menu!

Service was out of this world, attentive and polite, lots of information and fully capable of answering any question about the menu, wine, St. John's, anything really!

Do I recommend? Obviously. Will I return for a quiet night? Obviously. With friends? Obviously! :-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“You won't forget the experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was my first time in beautiful St John's. Because of the En Route magazine raves I booked Raymond's for a business dinner.

I've been lucky to dine in some amazing places and Raymond's is one of them. The sun-filled (late afternoon) bar in the front set the tone for a memorable evening. Everything was impressive - food, service, drinks, ambiance... The highlight was looking out the large windows to the ships heading out into the North Atlantic. What a contrast to where I sat - the comfortable environment and five star food and service... Canada is a land of contrasts and Raymond's is worth the splurge.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An Experience in Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Booked dinner for five to celebrate a milestone birthday. Four of the guests had the 7 course tasting menu, two of the 4 had the wine pairing with it. Each wine pairing perfectly complimented the selection it was paired with.

The fifth person had a food allergy and couldn't participate in the full tasking menu, instead, he ordered and appetizer and main. To our surprise, the chef went out of his/her way to prepare tasting pieces for the fifth person with full consideration to the allergy so he would be able to participate with us.

Exemplary service and extrasensory food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labrador City, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Went to Raymonds just last night with friends who recommended we go there! We were not disappointed. I had the cod, it was cooked perfectly! The taste of this plate was incredible. The service was excellent!!! Coincidently, Raymonds was featured on Land and Sea today. Which made me appreciate it even more!!! Cheers to the two Jeremys!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raymonds Restaurant also viewed

 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Raymonds Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Raymonds Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.