We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good functional convention center style hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   120 New Gower Street, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 6K4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in St. John's
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A good functional convention center style hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel is right downtown, a bit tired in decor but convenient, set up of meeting rooms very good, larger convention style halls are a good hike across the street via a covered bridge - a bit far , but overall good experience

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deltanl, General Manager at Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Delta St. John's Hotel & Conference Centre.
Our location is ideally situated for conventions and we are pleased to report that with the upcoming convention centre expansion, a new and more direct link to the Delta will be constructed. In addition, renovations to our guestrooms will begin once again early next year (2014)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    159
    77
    19
    9
See reviews for
28
70
28
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

As a family of five we did have to book two rooms which was a little pricey and my Delta Priveldge card would not credit both rooms. The kids enjoyed the pool, George street was a few monutes walk and many restaurants to eat at if you did not want to eat at the hotel. The breakfast was not included which was sad after paying $550.00 per night for 3 nights. Rooms were clean and beds were comfy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deltanl, General Manager at Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Delta St. John's Hotel & Conference Centre.
I do hope that your family enjoyed your time in our hotel. Our policy is that if a DP member books a second room for use by their family, then they do indeed get credited for that room. If you would like to contact me directly so this can be rectified, please do so anytime.
We hope you will consider us again in your travel plans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, NB
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed one night and it's still a good choice for downtown, however the competition is heating up with newer hotels in vicinity. Room was fine although the shower ran hot-cold briefly, which was annoying. Restaurant is a bit pricey if you wish to stay in, but there are good restaurants nearby, so lots of options. A Tim Hortons coffee shop through the pedway is very convienient and economical. Staff are always helpful and pleasant. Unfortunately, a big new building is blocking the former beautiful view of the harbor, so disappointing surprise. I guess it's the price of progress and oil money. It used to be my favourite hotel and I'd stay there again because it's a nice hotel and good location, but might look at other options in future.

Room Tip: Top floors, harbour view, is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times and find it always to be clean, the hotel staff to be courteous, and it has all the ammenities. a safe bet when in St. John's. Centrally located to the Arena, George Street, restaurants and shopping, as well as the harbor.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deltanl, General Manager at Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre and for your favourable comments.
we look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

I recently booked the best hotel room the delta has to offer. Parking cost extra (never heard of that at a hotel) the room for one night cost almost $400. When I got to the room the bar fridge was broke the shower head was spraying water everywhere (roof, wall, curtain). I got woke up in the middle of the night to a phone call asking if I was using the jacuzzi (which I wasn't, I was trying to sleep). The following morning I checked out and nothing was said to me however when I got home I looked at my credit card and I seem additional charges from the delta for "water damage". I never caused any water damage. They never even told me there was an issue. Do t stay here take your lonely elsewhere not worth the price of it at all!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax, ns
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Good location right downtown which is close to most business locations. This hotel is probably the most popular among business travellers and is very busy so book ahead. They provide free undergroung parking and have a nice gym and pool area.

The rooms are average, some tired but there is a newer section that has more modern appointed rooms.

Restaurant on site which is good but like most hotels restaurants- overpriced. The staff here are genuinely pleasant and interested in making your stay enjoable.

I've not stayed at any other than the Holiday Inn and would say you are better off here simply because of location and this could be considered a little nicer than the HI.

I would prefer a Hampton Inn when travelling but to date there is not one in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a new section room if that is important to you or ask for Delta Privilege club which is a sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deltanl, General Manager at Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed review of the Delta St. John's Hotel & Conference. I hope that future travellers will find it helpful. We are indeed the most popular hotel for business travellers and it is advised to book early for weekday travel. While we provide underground parking, it is not free but rather a $12 per day charge. The guestrooms that you refer to as tired will be completely renovated to the new Delta design beginning in early 2014.
i can also advise that a new Hampton Inn will be opening up in St. John's in the next 6 months, but it will be quite a distance from the downtown area.
We hope you will consider choosing the Delta St. John's again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

There must have been a thousand people at this hotel in for some tourism convention. Everyone was in good spirits it seemed, and the bar in the lobby turned into quite the booze can around 4 or 5 o'clock. Breakfast downstairs was good. Rooms were not bad, good view of the harbour. Better than some other Deltas I've been to - I'd describe it as 3-star accommodation. Location is fine, not perfect - a bit of a walk to the main drag, but pretty close. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Harbour view is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deltanl, General Manager at Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Delta St. John's Hotel & Conference Centre. The convention that was underway during your stay was Hospitality Newfoundland and Labrador, as you stated a group of tourism professionals. Since you referenced tourism star ratings, I am happy to correct you that our hotel is rated as a four (4) star hotel. We will also be undergoing extensive renovations beginning in early 2014.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you would choose the Delta St. John's again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre

Address: 120 New Gower Street, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 6K4, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#5 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On your next visit to this exciting city, stay at Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, located in the heart of downtown, in close proximity to the financial, business and entertainment centres and with a spectacular view of the St. John's Narrows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta St Johns
Delta St. John's Hotel And Conference Centre Newfoundland, Canada
St. John's Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.