We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest Staff, great view harbourside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre to your Saves list
Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   120 New Gower Street, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 6K4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in St. John's
ontario
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Friendliest Staff, great view harbourside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stay at this hotel on a regular basis. The staff is very friendly and welcoming and always willing to help with any questions. The location is within walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants. It has a pub and restaurant on the premises as well. The rooms are a bit dark so sometimes all the lamps have to be turned on. They're a good size and have all the things one needs for a business or leisure trip. The bathrooms are clean and brightly. There's a gym and indoor pool and indoor parking. Ask for a harbourside view on the upper floors and hope for a clear day!

Room Tip: ask for a harbourside room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deltanl, Manager at Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Delta St. John's following your recent stay.
Your review was very accurate and descriptive and surely will be of assistance for future travellers to the St. John's area.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our team to be friendly.
We hope to welcome you back again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    168
    80
    20
    9
See reviews for
32
76
28
220
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, NS
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Having finally gotten around to staying at the Delta in St. John's, I had some really high expectations of the place. While some were met, others I was very dissapointed in.

The staff are most pleasurable (and one could argue the saving grace of the hotel). From check-in, housekeeping, bellhops, restaurant staff all had a smile for you and really cared about how your stay was going.

Sadly the property left a bit to be desired. At the rate you typically pay, one would expect top of the line and near perfection with the property and their room. Not so here. The place could do with a big face lift. Peeling wallpaper, missing pictures, cracks, decor from the mid-90s, stained carpets, etc.

This is an OK hotel. But it can do much better than this..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deltanl, Manager at Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Brad,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Delta St. John's Hotel following your recent stay and for you very kind words about our team. These are comments that we hear quite frequently and we agree that they provide a level of service that overrides any physical deficiency of the property you may observe. We continue to reinvest capital funds in our property and look forward to unveiling the new Delta Mode rooms over the next few years. These are a sleek and modern re-think of a typical hotel room and we are excited about the concept. In the meantime, we still offer clean, maintained rooms with the amenites today's traveller has come to expect. We hope you will consider staying with us again when next in the St. John's area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very convenient location. Modern relatively good size rooms with a view. Hotel staff are very personable (but then most Newfs are!). This is the third time I've been there and they are always consistent. As stated, it's exactly what you would expect from Delta Hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deltanl, Manager at Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Delta St. John's following your recent stay.
Thank you as well for your kind comments about our personable team. We receive this type of feedback quite frequently and couldn't be more pleased to see that they are making an impression on our visitors. Our location is very convenient in the downtown core and our rooms and bathroons are larger than the average size hotel room. We hope you will visit us again in the near future and given the frequency of your travel, may we suggest that you enroll in our complimentary frequent traveller program? It is called Delta Privilege. You can enquire at the front desk or enroll on our website.
thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It was my privilege to stay in the Delta Hotel in St John's Newfoundland for three nights. The hotel was cozy and convenient.
The staff were very friendly and the only complaint was the dark and gloomy room in which I stayed.It had one low light in the Bay window, a small desk lamp over the computer desk and one lamp between the two queen size beds. I couldn't tell whether my slacks were black or navy. Additional light in the room would have added to the ambiance of the room and made it more Cherie. The bed was very comfortable and other than the lighting I have no complaints.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deltanl, Manager at Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Delta St. John's following your recent stay. We receive much feedback from guests like yourself commenting on the friendliness of our team. We appreciate these comments. But certainly the friendliness of our team cannot make up for the poor lighting you encountered in your guestroom. I do hope that it did not detract from the enjoyment of your room and stay too much. I would like to be able to follow up with this particular room to ensure the situation is rectified for future guests so if you would consider contacting me directly at: hmckinnon@fortisproperties.com to provide further details.
thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

At Check in and through out my stay the staff, with the exception of the restaurant, was great. The Front Desk and Housekeepers would say hi all the time and always had a smile for you.
I ate breakfast in the restaurant once and did not go back. I was appauled with the way the staff didn't care and walked around yelling at each other from one end of the place to the other. Had to ask 3 times for coffee and had to ask for my bill. No one attended the omelette station the whole time I was there. This is a unionized hotel and the staff in the restaurant that morning showed it. Not one of them had any service skills and they didn't seem to care.
Funny enough this was not the biggest issue I had here. This hotel in it's Hay Day was the top of the heap in St. John's. It was the best hotel by far, I know, I stayed there then. The hotel is beat up. There is peeling wallpaper, missing pictures on walls and dents everywhere in the hallway and rooms. I stayed on the 6th floor and the button to the elevator had been kicked or punched in but has never been repaired. A little drywall and wallpaper and it would look like new. I have attached 3 pictures to show you what I mean. The state of the lampshade was shameful. The black mark you see in the picture are everywhere and the missing pictures on the wall blew me away.
Shame on Delta for allowing this wonderful property to become what it has become.
Almost forgot, I walked by the pool and the water in the harbour near the sewage treatment plant is clearer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deltanl, Manager at Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Delta St. John's hotel following your recent stay. We are alarmed and concerned to read about your poor experience as it is certainly not indicative of the standards we strive to maintain, and certainly not feedback that we receive very frequently. I wish to apologize for any inconvenience or discomfort you experienced as a result of what you describe. I do have to take exception to your comment that the fact that our team is unionized results in a not caring attitude. Our unionized team members take great pride in providing exceptional service to our guests and couple that with an exemplary work ethic. i regret that you may have observed less than adequate behavior at the time. We continue to reinvest capital funds in our property and our renovations are ongoing and are due to continue for the next 2 years. We do hope that you will reconsider staying at the Delta St. John's again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marmora, Canada
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We were travelling as part of a bus group and arrived at 8:30pm. for a 3 night stay. The hotel had a welcoming reception for our group with punch and jam-jams. A very nice touch! This is a modern hotel located in downtown St. John's and is close to everything. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The breakfast selection and food quality was excellent. The front desk staff and Concierge were very friendly and helpful.
The only suggestion we could make is to update the room carpeting. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deltanl, Manager at Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Delta St. John's following your recent stay and for your kind comments about our hotel and team. The reception you were part of is offered to all bus tours who arrive as a group. We are pleased that you noted that. I have shared your comments with the entire team. Thank you as well for your feedback regarding our guest room carpet. We will begin the next cycle of carpet replacement in early 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Excellent hotel for business or pleasure, but if you're looking for something close to George Street, this is the place! Exit the front entrance, cross the street, and you're at the party! The same quality you'd expect from Delta Hotels: clean, comfortable, and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deltanl, Manager at Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre following your recent stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that your review will be helpful for future travellers in choosing a hotel that is in close proximity to the downtown's amenities and night life. We hope you will choose the Delta St. John's again when you visit the city again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre

Address: 120 New Gower Street, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 6K4, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#7 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On your next visit to this exciting city, stay at Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, located in the heart of downtown, in close proximity to the financial, business and entertainment centres and with a spectacular view of the St. John's Narrows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta St Johns
Delta St. John's Hotel And Conference Centre Newfoundland, Canada
St. John's Delta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delta St. John's Hotel and Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.