We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service & Wonderful Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leaside Suites and Executive Apartments

Save Saved
You added Leaside Suites and Executive Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Leaside Suites and Executive Apartments
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   39 Topsail Road (downtown), St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1E 2A6, Canada (Formerly Leaside Manor Heritage Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 St. John's B&B and Inns
Vancouver
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Service & Wonderful Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2008

We stayed at the Leaside Manor for six nights and it was an excellent experience. The room, the Signal Hill Suite, was beautifully decorated and very clean. The bathroom, with the large, soaker tub was wonderful and well supplied with towels. It had a kitchen, outfitted with pots/pans, utensils, etc., everything you could want.

The staff were extraordinarily helpful, always making themselves available to suggest a good touring route or site to visit or recommending great restaurants. Joanna was delightful and the owner, Elaine, is so helpful and informative. Her knowledge of the area is great and it really enhances the travel experience. It is evident that Elaine and her team love what they do and care for the lovely heritage property, as it is beautifully maintained.

The breakfast was delicious and the menu changed regularly. In the six days we were there the breakfast menu was different every morning. The staff professional, courteous and helpful. It was a very pleasant experience and we can't wait to return to St. John's and the Leaside Manor.

  • Liked — Professional, courteous staff and well designed rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    469
    51
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
33
377
20
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

We stayed at the Leaside for one night at the end of our trip to Newfoundland and we really enjoyed our stay. The property is a beautiful heritage building on a quiet residential street. The lobby is fabulous with period furniture and a beautiful design in the hardwood floor.
We had booked a single room but were upgraded to the Signal Hill Suite on our arrival - a large room with kitchenette and living room and jacuzzi and a beautiful curtained bed. Very nice. The owner, Elaine, greeted us and made us feel very welcome.We had a wonderful breakfast in the dining room in the morning.
We highly recommend this inn. If we return to St Johns we will be sure to stay here.

  • Liked — Friendly host, beautiful room and heritage building
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

We stayed in the Trinity Suite and it was absolutely amazing. The atmosphere of the room made it feel like we were on a beach resort...awesome:) We also loved the hot tub and having our own private entrance.
We cannot wait to plan our next stay:)

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

The Leaside Manor is perfect for any romantic night. I booked a room and when I arrived, the staff told me I could pick any room because there was only one other couple staying that night because it was a Thursday. We choose the Bonavista Suite and it was absolutely gorgeous. It had a personal entrance to the room from the outside which was very convenient. The bed comfortable and the jacuzzi was very large. I would recommend this room for any couple as it was a perfect night.

  • Liked — Jacuzzi
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2008

We have stayed at Leaside Manor on, at the very least, six occasions and each and every stay has been relaxing, romantic and thoroughly enjoyable. We've sampled quite a few B&Bs in the City, so we stand firm in our opinion that it is, by far, the best B&B in St. John's.
With respect to accomodations, Leaside offers something for every taste. If Victorian romance is your fancy, you will not be disappointed ~ the Port Royal & the Parker boast frills and femininity and will impress those true romantics. If sexy and contemporary is more your bag the Trinity and Bonavista will more than satisfy your appetite ~ these suites have modern furnishings with clean lines and a European feel (they also have their own entrances which is ideal for those of you who can't get past that idea that staying at a B&B feels like you're having a slumber party at a stranger's house). The Argentia and Bakeapple suites also boast contemporary decor and afford guests a unique blend of sleek and romantic ~ the Bakeapple is sizeable and has an excellent seating in which to relax ~ the Argentia is dark and masculine and feels like a hideaway with its sloped ceilings and dark walls.
With respect to service, Leaside's staff are fantastic and have always gone out of their way to accomodate our every request in a timely fashion. Their professionalism is to be commended and their focus is always on ensuring your stay is the best it can possibly be.
As for price, it likely won't be an issue after you've had the Leaside experience . The quality of your stay will be well worth the price. In the meantime, for those of you who are cost-conscious, try booking during their off season or checking out their website ~ they offer great promotions.
So visit Leaside Manor, you will not be disappointed. It has something to satisfy every taste and the service and atmosphere far exceeds other luxury B&Bs in the City. Five stars.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — not applicable
  • Stayed October 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2008

My boyfriend and I have stayed at the leaside manor in December for the 4th time! Each time has been amazing. We have stayed at the parker, the Trinity, Bonavista and the Signal Hill! everyone room was desiged in it;s own way! No two rooms are alike!

The room were very clean and the staff was great!
There was breakfastdelieved to our room each time we stayed and it was delicious!

We would reccomend the leaside manor to anybody traveling to St.Johns! and would just like to have a romantic evening with the significant other.
We have already reccomend the place to several friends and they all adored the Place.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Leaside Suites and Executive Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leaside Suites and Executive Apartments

Address: 39 Topsail Road (downtown), St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1E 2A6, Canada (Formerly Leaside Manor Heritage Inn)
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leaside Suites and Executive Apartments 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leaside Manor is St. John's most popular small inn/B&B, offering romantic, double tub suites with fireplaces; fully-furnished executive apartments; unique meeting facilities with catered meals - all within a 5 minute drive of the downtown. An owner-hosted facility, Leaside offers a full cooked breakfast served in your suite; free wireless, parking; trip planning assistance. Leaside provides all the amenities of a hotel while giving you the personalized attention that only a small inn can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Leaside Suites and Executive Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leaside Manor Heritage Hotel St. John`s
Leaside Suites And Executive Apartments Newfoundland, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leaside Suites and Executive Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.