We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shamrock City Pub

Shamrock City Pub
340 Water Street, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
+1 709-758-5483
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 305 Restaurants in St. John's
Price range: $6 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Great local and Irish fare with great service. Live music nightly featuring the best of Newfounland folk and Irish musicians. Owned by D'Arcy Broderick, formerly of Irish Descendents and Fables bands.
Conception Bay South, Newfoundland, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Snacks, music, atmosphere and courteous staff. Very pleasant way to spend an afternoon or evening. Wonderful Irish and Newfoundland music.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    30
    16
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“average pub grub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Very popular spot so go early if you are doing the happy hour run. Food is your average pub grub. Good music but little seating and it gets crowded quick.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipawin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great entertainment.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had a good pub supper and great entertainment at this friendly pub on Water Street. It is easy to find and apparently has entertainment every night. We tried the starter platter for two, which had many tasty bits and bites, although perhaps a bit low on the veggies for some tastes!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Do not start a tab at the bar!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

They either tried to scam me, or made 3 mistakes on my bill. I made the mistake of leaving my credit card behind the bar so my date and I could get drinks on my tab. I went to the bar to close my tab, and they had added 3 extra drinks to my bill which we did not order.

After arguing with 2 different people, they adjusted my bill , incorrectly.

When we finally sorted it out, we decided that we would never go back.

Thanks for nothing, shamrock city. Just my experience, but I thought I should share it.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lots of Irish music”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

When we arrived in St. John's, we were told by the hotel staff that Shamrock City Pub was the most Irish experience we could have. My husband is a big fan of Irish Pubs, so off we went.

No live music was playing, but it was mid-afternoon...they did have cd's playing though. The food and drinks were ok.

As were from out of town, we quizzed our waiter on where Quidi Vidi beer was made. He response was "I dunno know". Unfortunately, that was his response to almost everything.

It was a nice spot, but the staff wasn't the best.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shamrock City Pub also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Shamrock City Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shamrock City Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.