We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland to your Saves list
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   115 Cavendish Square, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 3K2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in St. John's
Lloydminster, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not worth the money!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there with friends in August. It has been a couple years since we had enjoyed our last stay there when it was the Hotel Newfoundland and I have to say it has really went down hill! My booking was screwed up and I had to pay for an extra night which I was told would be taken care of when then manager arrived in the morning. NOT! It is the last week in September and still nothing. $358 for a room which we could not sleep in because of the noise downstairs! Our friends could not use their tub because it was broken and we all were awakened by dogs barking at 5:00 am. We told the people all about it upon check out and we got " oh I am so sorry". That's it! Not one other word. We will never stay there again. We moved to the Marriott just a stones throw from the Sheraton and it was awesome!! Don't waste your money by staying at the Sheraton!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We take all of our guests comments very seriously and view them as an invaluable resource which allows us to celebrate successes and identify areas of opportunity. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you encountered on your stay and we would very much like the chance to speak with you further regarding your experience. I can be reached directly at chris.hayden@sheratonhotelnewfoundland.com. I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    166
    69
    25
    13
See reviews for
51
88
25
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had a great harbor view room. Bed was great. The room itself was spacious enough but had an air conditioner that sounded like a jet plane taking off. When we inquired about it we were told that some floors had been updated and ours wasn't. Fridge broke down but was promptly replaced the following morning. Gift shop was closed due to a change in ownership so we had to go out to get snacks, etc. Having said that, all the staff were pleasant and professional, making the inconveniences minimal. We were there for a conference so were not paying the posted room rate of $425. or $475 (can't remember). We did not feel the room or hotel could command that kind of rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view room ,high floor, with newer air conditioner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful view and comfortable Sweet Sleeper bed. We apologize for the inconveniences you suffered no matter how "minimal" and are glad to hear they did not negatively affect your stay. We hope to see you return soon so we can show you our newly renovated rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton St-John's for 4 nights in early July. Room was large, extra clean, quiet, with a comfortable king size bed, free internet access and a great harbour view. The service at the hotel was first class: attentive and friendly. Location is great since this was near the start of the trails leading up to signal hill. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant one evening and it was fabulous. There is also a nice place for breakfast right accross the street and a Loblaw's less than 4 minutes away by car. We really enjoyed our trip on the "rock". St-John's for a city its size has a lot to offer in and around it. Too bad that the forest fires in Labrador and Quebec made the skies grey for most of our trip but that was not a big deal. Felt that the people in NL are the best!

Room Tip: Of course, a harbour view is a plus !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
We appreciate your kind words RobCh and the time it took for you to share your review. It sounds like you enjoyed your trip to the fullest (including our complimentary amenities) and that the only thing left is for you to return and see our blue skies and fresh ocean air. We'll hold a room for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland as part of a wedding. The reception was held in their atrium gallery, which was unique and very classy. We had prebooked a room porthole view of the city and it was incredible. The room was clean and well appointed. I tried to take a decent pic of the porthole view, but alas, I am a terrible photographer. Conveniently located, and friendly staff - put that goes without saying on the rock :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thought about your visit. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the wedding in our wonderful courtgarden, it truly is a beautiful feature of the hotel. You will have to come back and stay with us again in order to capture that elusive picture from the porthole window. *Hint* The view is stunning when the city has a light layer of snow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beamsville, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A lovely hotel, extremely clean, and despite its size remarkably quiet. The beds were
heavenly, so comfortable with layers, sheet, thinner duvet and then a thick duvet as well.
Generous supply of pillows both soft and firm for each bed. A big wedding was going on
the Saturday night we were there, so well done that the rest of the guests only saw
a beautiful bride and groom, everything else was contained in the ballroom so that one
only saw a table with the wedding cake, if you looked over the railing down into the
atrium. To hold a wedding of that size that in no way intruded on non-involved guests
shows a truly well managed facility. We will now return every time we visit my daughter
during the coming five years of university.
Thank you to all of the very friendly and professional staff, you were all wonderful.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, excellent room. They have more expensive higher level rooms with harbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay and will be visiting us when you return to see your daughter. Please make sure to stop by the Front Desk and say hello when you come back to see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a king size bed in a renovated room overlooking the harbor. It was very comfortable, the bed was great. All of the employees were friendly and very helpful. The location is good but still represents a 15 minute walk to George Street, which felt a little far especially in poor weather. We would definitely stay there again! Ask for a renovated room if possible!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
mep23,
We thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor and for the kind words. We could talk about our prime location, comfortable Sweet Sleeper beds or stunning views as reasons to stay with us but it is the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff which you mentioned which set our hotel apart. We will make sure to pass along your comments. Hopefully we get to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here this past july and had a great experience. I was in town on business and decided to tour the island a bit while in Newfoundland. The location was great as it was only a few minutes walk to down town st john's. The staff were very professional and we had a great time in the lounge one night. Overall we were very happy with our stay and we will definitely return if we are ever in St John's again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hello coastal_lad,
We are happy to hear you had a good time visiting our coast and enjoyed your stay at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland. Our prime location is a major benefit for our guests who stay with us but it is our amazing staff that keep them coming back time after time. We hope to see you the next time you visit "the island".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland

Address: 115 Cavendish Square, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 3K2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking St. John's historic harbour, Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland offers travelers a wealth of amenities all within easy reach of the historic city's myriad attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton St Johns
Sheraton Hotel St Johns
Fairmont St. John's
St. John's Fairmont
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.