We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what you expect.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland to your Saves list
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   115 Cavendish Square, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 3K2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in St. John's
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exactly what you expect.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Great consistent experience from this hotel. Stay almost every time I'm in town and I always get friendly service, clean room and the attached amenities are good.

Soren at the front desk is incredibly friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
There is no better advertising, or compliment, than a positive review from a guest that stays with us every time they visit our beauitufll city. We are thrilled to hear your wonderful comments about the consistent and friendly service you receive whenever you stay with us. And, what can you say about Soren? He is a superstar. We'll see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    166
    69
    25
    13
See reviews for
51
88
25
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

I spent a week in St Johns for work and booked this hotel. I found the updated rooms and the downtown location very appealing. Overall, I found the hotel nicely updated (its an older property) and well appointed.

There were a few disappointments though. First, the pool is closed until spring. They must be doing a very large Reno on it as its papered off and out of bounds when you go to the gym. I also found that the gift shop was not open, even during posted open hours. That was a bit of a letdown as I wanted to send a few postcards home.

I ate breakfast at the restaurant once. It was a bit pricey ($22 dollars for a bowl of oats, some melon, and a cup of coffee) but nicely appointed. The dinner menu looked quite nice, but I wasn't able to check it out.

I would certainly stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. As you stated, our swimming pool area is undergoing a major renovation and is slated to re-open next week. We are very excited to unveil this beautiful new guest area and we hope you have the chance to return and experience it for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Traveled to St. Johns, Newfoundland for business in January 2013 and stayed at this Sheraton. I am very glad that I chose this hotel, and will be staying there for future visits in the coming months! Fast internet in the room. The breakfast is fast and good! The bar was not crowded which was nice and quiet to have a drink after dinner. I recommend this Sheraton and will stay there again!

Room Tip: The breakfast buffet is only a cold buffet; it is good, but if you want hot items, order off the men...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit from the complimentary internet to our food and beverage offerings. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, we will make sure to pass along your comments to our associates. We look forward to welcoming you back in the coming months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We enjoyed our trip to St John's, but stayed (on points) at the staid Sheraton. The staff were exceptionally friendly, but the building and rooms are tired and do little to reflect the energy of the city. Breakfast was overpriced and poor. . .far better to check out the nearby restaurants. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable, but the hotel is nothing special.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our wonderful city and the hospitality of our fantastic associates. We are concerned to read about your overall impression of the hotel and your breakfast experience. We pride ourselves on being the location of choice within the city and our culinary offerings play a major role in what makes the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland stand out from the crowd. Your feedback is appreciated and has been passed along to our Food and Beverage management team for review. We hope to have to opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

First, let me say the service level and friendliness of the staff was exemplary, no complaints there at all.
When I got to the room, though, I was surprised by a couple of things. It was a large "porthole" room, very generous in square footage, but laid out strangely, making it feel disjointed. The furnishings seemed to be a conglomeration, not really coordinated, and rather "80's" in tone. No big deal, just odd. The bed was comfortable, as others have remarked. The carpet definitely needed replacing because, while I think it was clean, it was definitely stained and worn. There was also quite a bit of peeling wallpaper (seams lifting...) and dings in painted surfaces. All in all - the room just looked very tired. And, even with all the lights on, it was very dark.
I think the bathroom may have had a later update, and it looked good, but the room really needed refreshing.
For the money, I was rather surprised at the condition of the room, but my stay was not unpleasant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay. We are delighted to hear that you were able to experience the type of service and friendliness our staff have become known for. We are disappointed to hear that your accomodations were not up to the same standard. We are continuing renovations of our Guestrooms in 2013 which will include carpets, wallpaper and furnishings in order to keep the hotel looking modern and fresh. Should you be travelling to St. John's again we would love the opportunity to welcome you back and have you experience one of our newly renovated rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I had a wonderful stay from beginning to end. The staff were very friendly and helpful, no issues whatsoever. The room very comfortable. The only odd thing was that the bathroom didn't have a towel rack to hang my towel. Internet access was easy. And a very small thing, but I loved that the hair dryer was so powerful! I didn't really take advantage of the amenities, except for the business centre, which wasn't too busy. The restaurant was a bit pricey, but fine. Lovely view, too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and were able to experience the level of service our staff have become known for. Hopefully when you return on your next stay you will be able to make use of more of the amenities such as our updated fitness centre and renovated swimming pool (will re-open in April 2013).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Visited the city for Christmas shopping, and also enjoyed the comfortable bed, free wifi, large pool, and quiet room at the Sheraton. I ate at the bar the evening I arrived, and had some tasty fish and ridiculously delicious rum ice cream in a brandy snap basket. Definitely not typical bar food!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us (and that you got an early start on your Christmas shopping). We are very lucky to have such a talented culinary team at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland who produce dishes that, like you said, are anything but typical. We look forward to welcoming you back to "bivver" and the hotel on your next visit to St.John's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland

Address: 115 Cavendish Square, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 3K2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking St. John's historic harbour, Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland offers travelers a wealth of amenities all within easy reach of the historic city's myriad attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton St Johns
Sheraton Hotel St Johns
Fairmont St. John's
St. John's Fairmont
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.