We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   115 Cavendish Square, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 3K2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #7 of 20 hotels in St. John's
1 review
“Very helpful and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was very clean and quiet. The beds were so comfortable I didn't even want to check out. The view from our room was amazing, the whole downtown harbour was in our view from the window. The Guest Services Manager Marlene Martin was amazing. We had some minor issue with our truck and she went above and beyond to help us out. She definitely represents the friendly, helpful, respectable motto the Seraton stands for. I could not have asked for better service from an individual.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with comments on your stay. We are delighted to hear that you were able to experience one of our many rooms that offer spectacular views of St.John's harbour and The Narrows. Marlene is a true asset to the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland and our associates as she leads the way with her friendly service. I will make sure she gets your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you once again when your travels bring you back our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    134
    51
    23
    11
See reviews for
44
74
23
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Service and rooms were great. Very comfortable. Great location for a number of things. Rooms were very clean and staff were v helpful. We had a tour of the main attractions and were picked up at the hotel. Walked to many places from here as well.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Location, location, location! It's true what they say... location is key and we are happy to boast one of the most coveted locations in the city. Our close proximity to the many tourist attractions and business district (not to mention the spectacular views) make our hotel an ideal choice. We are delighted to hear that you not only enjoyed your stay with us but were able to explore historic St.John's. We hope you left enough unexplored so you will return to visit us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steady Brook, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed from August 17-19 while in St. John's. When we arrived we got in line to be checked in and it was painfully slow until another staff member came out to help. Our room was facing the city but the view in a hotel room is not the most important thing since I did not travel here to stare out the window. The bed and pillows were wonderful and everything was spotless. The room service card that was left in the room for us to fill out for breakfast in the morning was filled out the second night and put on the doorknob by 3 am as instructed and was taken by morning so we would receive our order by 10:00-10:15 am. This did not happen. The card states that if you do not receive your order in 30 minutes it will be complimentary, so we waited until 10:50 and decided to call to find out where our breakfast was. Apparently they did not get our card which was taken off our door, so I asked the front desk staff about it and we were given two vouchers for the breakfast buffet in the restaurant located in the hotel. This was appreciated considering we just waited almost an hour for a breakfast that was never coming. Samantha was the staff member that helped us with this problem and she is wonderful. The restaurant and the bar in this hotel is great but when the bar is busy like it was Friday night it is a bit of a wait. Parking at this hotel is free and can be a nightmare when returning to hotel when there is a event going on in their area for weddings and such things. But most of the other times there are spaces available. The pool is also lovely and the work out area is being renovated but they have machines set up in a room but I did not go there so I cannot comment on that. Over all this hotel was great, the staff are great and the gift shop is very nice with a wonderful lady that runs that. Although like most other places I've stayed, every time someone lets their door shut you can hear it as plain as day. We also heard the noise in the hallways when people would walk by talking like they were out in the street. Our next trip to St. John's will be in the next few months and this hotel will be a top choice since it was very clean and comfortable and in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland. I would like to apologize for the problems you encountered regarding your In Room Dining breakfast but am glad to hear that Samantha was able to rectify the issue for you. We would expect nothing less from Sam because as you mentioned she is wonderful. When you return to stay with us again I would like to recommend that you see our Porter/Door staff should you have any difficulties parking and they would be more than happy to assist you. I have passed along your other comments to the appropriate department heads for their review and action. We would like to thank you for staying with us and extend you a warm invitation to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland was relatively close to the airport. It is approximately a 20 minute drive. We found the hotel easily, although we used a navigation system. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The conceriege provided us with local maps for seeing the sights. At time of booking, we requested a room without feather pillows. Shortly after we arrived, a team of 2 staff members came to our room, replaced existing feather pillows with hypoallergic pillows. They were lovely to sleep on, as was the bed itself. The room was a comfortable size and very clean. We stayed on the third floor with a wonderful view of the Habour. Our stay was brief, 2 nights. Having said that, we spent very little time at the hotel, therefore, we cannot speak to the amenities available to hotel patrons. There is a beautiful art boutique onsite. If time affords you, visit Cape Spear. It is the most easternly point to be driven in North America. It was here that we saw whales travelling along the Atlantic coast from the Caribbean. A sight to behold! I must admit we were quite surprised about how expensive it is to dine in the city. When in NFL, one must have a real Newfoundland dinner. Try the halibut, as it is the best. We would have liked more time to tour, so we'll be planning a return trip. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Please remember that NFL is generally a cold province, so you'd be advised to pack accordingly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland and that our associates were able to make you comfortable and provide you with their expert local advice. We are also excited to hear that you were able to experience the awesome sight of the majestic Humpback whales at historic Cape Spear. Having these attractions so close is definitely a convenience to our Guests. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Sheraton from August 1st to 5th during our vacation and I have stayed a number of times on business. The hotel is in a fantastic location - just minutes from Water Street and Duckworth Street - and has the most beautiful views of St. John's. The rooms are well-sized and clean, the beds very comfortable and many of the rooms are being updated. I cannot say enough about the service at this hotel. I have stayed in far more luxurious properties and resorts in the US and Europe and never received this level of service. All the staff we encountered, from the concierge desk and reception desk to porters and housekeeping, were very friendly and helpful and did their jobs with a smile. I would like to particularly thank Imelda for making my husband and I feel so welcome and going the extra mile of assisting us with our luggage from the car when we returned for our final night on August 8th! She is an absolute gem and Sheraton is lucky to have her. A large group arrived to check in on our first arrival and the line to check in was very long but Imelda lightened the mood and welcomed everyone to the hotel. I really cannot stay enough about the staff. We are looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger than the regular rooms and higher floors facing the harbour have an impressi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words. As you stated in your review, we have a fantastic location, spectacular views and the one of a kind Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed which all make for a great stay. But it is our associates who make the difference and really set the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland apart. We know how lucky we are to have Imelda as a part of our family and we will make sure she receives your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to St.John's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Oh. I only wish I could have afforded this hotel for my stays in St. Johns.
Prime location - very close to Signal Hill. Very friendly staff - will make dinner reservations for you is a key plus.

Easy to find after the first time.

Room Tip: Deluxe Room on 7th floor with bay view is ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland with our great location and even more impressive staff. Our associates pride themselves on delivering exceptional service and assisting with dining reservations is just one of the many little touches they do so well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Recently stayed at Sheraton on a business trip. Late check in was fast and courteous.
Large room with a big screen TV. Excellent view of Harbor. All rooms seem angle to harbor. Second floor even had a great view,

Coffee maker with several STARBUCKS packets. Even the new mild none (not carbonized coffee as some Starbucks seem to be.

Very comfortable bed.

A bit of noise from the AC unit. It is a though wall type under window. A bit old fashioned in that view.

St Johns paper in a stack near our floors elevator, not delivered to door. Not clear if Globe and Mail printed in NFLD for business readers.

Exercise room is under refurbish but a temp one was set up in another board room.

Breakfast buffet is good and restaurants are top notch. Lots of board rooms and meeting rooms. Likely a provincial conference centre. Not evident in August though.

Amazing treed atrium with a strangely too noisy waterfall. Well done ..............but noisy.

Have a good map or GPS if coming from airport. Roads in this old port town follow ancient routes not a modern rectangular grid. You'll get lost

Room Tip: all face harbour. go for numbers above 30 on a floor and above 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such a comprehensive review of the hotel and all of our amenities. We are thrilled to hear there were so many aspects of your stay which you were able to experience and enjoy. We hope that you come visit us again when you head back to Newfoundland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland

Address: 115 Cavendish Square, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 3K2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#5 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking St. John's historic harbour, Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland offers travelers a wealth of amenities all within easy reach of the historic city's myriad attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton St Johns
Sheraton Hotel St Johns
Fairmont St. John's
St. John's Fairmont
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.