We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yellowbelly Pub” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yellowbelly Brewery & Public House

Yellowbelly Brewery & Public House
288 Water St, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada (Downtown)
709 757-3784
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 313 Restaurants in St. John's
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Yellowbelly Pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had a good meal here on a Thursday night. It was so very full that we had to wait quite a while for a table. The bar area was also full, so we had to wait around , in everyone's way while we had to being on the lookout for a table. It is a very popular, very small restaurant, with great food. The entertainment was very good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    146
    59
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cobourg, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

On our first night in St. John's the end of May, we went to Y as recommended by parking attendant across from the Keg! Excellent food - pizza, fish and chips - and service!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent local beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I have eaten here twice on this trip, and ordered their beer in other restaurants. This local brew pub has good food, beer and service, in my experience.

The menu has a good variety on it. I had a beef/mushroom burger (with the patty itself being a mixture of beef and mushroom making for a lighter but entirely tasty patty) with spectacular fries (served with proper malt vinegar). On the other occassion I ordered arancini which also impressed me from the appetizer menu (this was meant to be a light lunch snack but with 6 pieces I found it ample and did not quite finish it, althouhg I wished I could).

Their beers are good. I prefer their Red Ale as I am a darker beer fan but can`t quite manage to eat a meal and drink a stout. My family had their wheat beer for a lighter option and enjoyed it.

I found the service polite and helpful, one one occassion it was very busy and the server did not have time to chat, on the other it was quieter and our server chatted a little and sugggested some places in town to check out.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This is a really great option - beer is good; food is excellent; our service was great. They are a busy, popular local establishment. Food is on the high quality end for pub food - fresh, local, good greens.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Make sure you go! Unique menu items - beer awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Staff were super friendly and helpful. They knew the menu well. There are specials that are good as well. The staff was helpful on GF issues - if they didn't know they found out! e.g. the burger has no filler.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yellowbelly Brewery & Public House also viewed

 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Yellowbelly Brewery & Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yellowbelly Brewery & Public House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.