We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay here again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greenwood Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Greenwood Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Greenwood Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 West Street, Corner Brook, Newfoundland and Labrador A2H 2Z8, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Corner Brook
Moncton
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“I would stay here again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Nice hotel. The bed was probably the most comfortable I ever slept in. Staff were friendly. I was not overly impressed with the restaurant. I only stayed for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    17
    11
    6
See reviews for
9
13
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stephenville, Newfoundland, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Stayed here for one night hoping to get some sleep after a later flight. Never realized there are streets running in front and back - so if the sound of traffic keeps you awake - NOT your place to stay! Beds were very comfy though and rooms were quite clean. Found the heating system lacking, and although the thermostat had a "fan" button - no fan would come on anywhere. Also - apparently if you wish to pay with your debit card, they say you have to pay an additional $200 which they refund the next day when you leave... have to say that was one of the most stupid policies I've ever heard of! Debit is instant money as opposed to credit cards... makes no sense! In fairness to them - we didn't stay long enough to appreciate the pool or fitness facilities. But I think next time I will pick a much quiter place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This hotel has been the same for 20 years. The wallpaper is falling down, the sheets and towel are the same, it's so tired looking.

Even though they advertise the hotel as being 'smoke-free' I would swear that on the third floor where we stayed it smelled very strongly of cigarette smoke in the hallway. The bathrooms are also very tiny and hard to move around in comfortably.

Room Tip: Ask for something with a street view vs. parking lot view. You can also park for free in the underg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Even though they were closed for an extended period of time after the fire the rooms and restaurant do not seem to have changed much even down to the wallpaper and carpet. Only thing in Cornerbrook is that all the hotels are very similar.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Lake, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

very nice hotel newly renovated pillow top mattress mini fridge in rooms wine in room which you can purchase, clean rooms and spacious, very nice bar and restaurant, also has a nice swimming pool fitness center, small hair salon and ball room suitable for various functions including weddings and private parties over very satisfied with this hotel also within walking distance from many local bussiness and restaurants.

Room Tip: I would reccomend staying on second or third flooer rooms with a view of west street facing front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsail CBS, NL Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

vowed i wouldn't stay here again after our last visit. but had to make a quick trip to corner brook for medical emergency. traveled with friends and they had rooms. the rooms were clean and comfortable. the carpet in the halls really needs to be cleaned. the last time the problem was the noise. groups of loud rude sports teams up all night and ruined our stay. the management took no action. i noticed this time there was a security guard in the lobby. hopefully they can get a handle on that. the best part of our trip was finding the Bay Of Islands Bistro across the street on west st. Fine dining in C.Brook! Excellent food and presentation. Hip and Happening with trendy menu. check it out!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

We found this hotel on the CAA site and booked it through that. Upon checkout we were told that the rate we booked online was wrong and we were charged $30 more. When I questioned that, the woman said "oh, they just haven't updated their website". How was that our fault? I even emailed the Manager of the hotel afterwards and he never responded.

In the room, there was no hot water so we called the front desk and it took them about three hours to figure out how to fix it. The free internet in the room cut out after about 5 minutes and we could hear the ice maker down the hall ALL NIGHT. It was a very unpleasant stay and I'm sure there are way better rooms anywhere else in Corner Brook.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Greenwood Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwood Inn & Suites

Address: 48 West Street, Corner Brook, Newfoundland and Labrador A2H 2Z8, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Corner Brook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Corner Brook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Greenwood Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated in 2011, our full service property offers 102 comfortable and modern guestrooms. Our rooms are appointed with plush pillowtop matresses, 32" LCD televsions,coffee makers, Lodgenet movies,and complimentary wireless high speed internet. The downtown property features a restaurant/ lounge, indoor pool with fitness centre, business centre and a guest parking garage. We are located within muniutes of Corner Brook's business, health and recreation facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Greenwood Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenwood Inn And Suites
Holiday Inn Corner Brook
Greenwood Inn & Suites Corner Brook, Newfoundland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenwood Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.