We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Corner Brook

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Corner Brook to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Corner Brook
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   41 Maple Valley Road, Corner Brook, Newfoundland and Labrador A2H 6T2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Corner Brook
st. john's
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“never again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

Our room REEKED of cigarette smoke. I mean, not just a little, but like you had jammed your face in an ashtray full of lit cigarettes. The non-smoking sign on the door and inside the room is a joke. I think it was the dedicated smoking area for the hotel. Air conditioning/heater didn't work at all. The sheets in the second double bed had what looked like cigarette ashes over the turned down sheet. Requested that the sheets be changed and think that they may have smoked 3 or 4 packs while sitting on the bed afterwards. Tried desparately to get another room in the city but there was nothing available. Had to wash all clothes upon return home as it stank like were in an old bar all weekend. No morning paper as promised. Don't stay here unless you like waking in the morning with headaches, sore throats, and congestion from the stench that permeates the room/hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    30
    17
    14
    9
See reviews for
19
19
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kemptville
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

The hotel is secleded so if you want to do anything you need to drive. The staff was rude, the hotel itself stank of smoke. Our non-smoking room even stank like smoke.
Had to bring the "card key" back 3 times as it didn't work and the staff were extremely rude about it. Not our fault!
The air conditioning broke so at 1 am we called the front desk. They really didn't care. It was like a sauna in the room. They said they would send someone to the room. The front desk clerk showed up about an hour later, told us yes it was indeed broken and that there was nothing she could do about it. They had no other rooms and we were stuck. It was awful and we didn't get much sleep.
The room itself was small and passibly clean.
I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

Easy to find clean .no elevators so if your luggage is heavy,just bring what you need or request bottom floor.Food next door o.k. try hard fanchice chain.Jungle Jims had scallops yummy and fresh.drinks cheap try the local beer Black horse made in NFLD.this hotel is easy to find just off no. 1 highway.Close to the local town of Corner Brook

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2009

Stayed here recently after being snowed in at Corner Brook. Wasn't many hotels to choose from, we went with the only name brand hotel we could find.
The hotel is decent. Check in desk were friendly. Rooms were pretty clean, carpet a bit old looking though. The bed was comfortable and the linen was fresh and clean.
Our problem was that there was some sort of figure skating competion in town. The hotel was full of young girls apparanlty 7-11 years old. They were running up and down the halls all night, even as late as 1am. I wouldn't hold this against the hotel, more disrespect among the parents. But it didn't seem the hotel was trying to do anything about it. There is a restaurant attached called Jungle Jim's. Avoid! The food was terrible and the service even worse! Better off going to Pizza Delight or something. Overall i would say this is a decent place to stay, but ask if there are many kids before booking and avoid the restaurant and it might be okay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2008

Me and my son(4) stayed here for 1 night on our boy's trip to newfoundland. The Front desk staff was excellent, almost excessively nice, which is typical of most newfoundlanders.

The Hotel was very clean and our room was no exception, there is really no complaints to make about the hotel at all, it is not upscale by any means but not low end either.

The Wireless internet worked great.

The Attached "Jungle Jims" Resturant was okay, it's got a great theme, but the food is a little bland and service was slow.

the only thing that could make this hotel better would be a pool.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2008

This hotel has no elevator and struggling up and down the stairs with heavy luggage was an experience not to be repeated. The rooms were small and noisy. The themed attached restaurant called Jungle Jim's was an experience to be avoided... staff very complacent, service slow, and food expensive and not very good quality. I would not stay here again.

  • Liked — Proximity to highway
  • Disliked — No elevator
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2008

Comfortable, great staff, beautiful area. (But was charged 3 dollars for drinking the bottle of water in the room. Didn't know they charged for water until I checked out).

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Corner Brook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Corner Brook

Address: 41 Maple Valley Road, Corner Brook, Newfoundland and Labrador A2H 6T2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Corner Brook
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Corner Brook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Corner Brook 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"All new just for you!" Welcome to the newly renovated, 100% smoke free Comfort Inn Corner Brook. We overlook the Bay of Islands with a spectacular view of the harbour. Upgraded features include; new contemporary guest rooms equipped with 32" flat screens, work desk and ergonomic chair, FREE Wi-Fi , new bathrooms with granite top vanities, stylish new lobby, FREE 24 hour coffee, and new guest business area. Comfort Inn is Pet friendly so bring the whole family to experience our warm hospitality. Local walking trails are next door and Gros Morne National Park is just a nice day's outing. We have a fun family Restaurant on Property, "Jungle Jims" which is open 7-11 p.M. Daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Corner Brook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corner Brook Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Corner Brook Newfoundland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Corner Brook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.