We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lobster rolls ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Fry

Golden Fry
622 Main, Shediac, New Brunswick E0A 3G0, Canada
506.532.3771
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 44 Restaurants in Shediac
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food
Restaurant details
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Best lobster rolls ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My partner is from the maritimes and is obsessed with lobster rolls, and she says these are the best she's ever had. Go for the double-lobster portion - it is worth the extra $4. Super fresh lobster, soft toasted bun, and amazing french fries. This is a takeout place we stumbled upon, near the entrance to Parlee Beach. We will definitely be back. Fantastic greasy spoon takeout, with retro awesomeness. No indoor seating. Not the cheapest fast food, but defnitely worth the price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Lobster rolls in Shediac and prices are good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Nothing fancy but good food at a great price. Love the Lobster rolls and everyone seems to enjoy the rest of the food they get.
I send a lot of my customers from my motel there.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We weren't enthralled with our food here,.., fries were yummy but fish just so-so. I have had much much better. The lobster roll was a disappointment, but I've never had one before so I don't have anything to compare it to. It was not at all what I expected,,, cold lobster pieces on a hot dog bun with lettuce and mayo.. Maybe it is good relative to other people's, but I didn't enjoy it at all, I just picked off the lobster and threw out the rest.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pugwash, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“terrific fish and chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Doesn't get more real than this. We love the batter they use for the fish. French fries are real (not frozen). Outdoor seating available for those wonderful days of summer...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Love the Golden Fry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The Golden Fry is a must after or before heading to the beach. Great lobster roll. The fish and chips are delicious. Worth the wait, it is busy.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Fry also viewed

 
Shediac, New Brunswick
 

Been to Golden Fry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Fry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.