We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2014 New Year's Celebration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tait House (Maison Tait)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Tait House (Maison Tait) to your Saves list
The Tait House (Maison Tait)
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   293 Main Street, Shediac, New Brunswick, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Shediac B&B and Inns
Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“2014 New Year's Celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

A group of friends were looking for a venue to ring in the New Year! Well, we were not disappointed in deciding to reserve rooms and meals at The Tait House. The five course menu was delicious, the entertainment was delightful and the host couldn't be more pleasant! We loved the opportunity to celebrate, be a little pampered and have the comfort and security to stay in one very comfortable and nicely decorated accommodation. I loved the presentation of local artwork and the authentic feel of the Inn. Restoration work was amazing!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    8
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
8
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed one night and really enjoyed it. Very realxing palce. The lawn in front of the hotel is beautiful. Staff is very attentive. The room we stayed in was large, simply but nicely furnished with a large bathroom. Unfortunately we left it too late to reserve a place at the hotel restaurant, but the menu looked delicious.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

It was alright but of all the places we stayed on our journey this was the most expensive and we cannot say it was worth it. The staff was very friendly and the place is very clean. The continental breakfast starts late and we noted most people had left before it was set out. We did not even get a cup of coffee or tea before we left at 0800.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

This is such a charming establishment. From the moment we checked in Susan made sure our stay was fantastic. We stayed in Room 3 with the soaker tub in the window. The room was delightful and bed very comfy.
We also had dinner at the B&B. The oysters and chowder were very tasty. The scallop entree was excellent.
In the morning we dined out on the deck.
This B&B has won us over. Will definitely be regulars!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orono, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Set in the seaside town of Shediac the Trait House is a beautifully restored old Mansion. The rooms are large, beautiful and have luxurious beds. I was a expecting a full breakfast for the price of the rooms but a good continental selection served.

Room Tip: Ask for a water bottle in your room and lots of stairs. The staff were very helpful in carrying our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

If you're working in Moncton, take the drive to Shediac to get a more Atlantic feel. Tait House is a restored mansion from early potato farmers. The food was exquisite. I thought I should be having lobster (given the location) but maybe they figure that's over done, cuz there was none on the menu! I had shrimp and scallops instead. My starter salad with poached pears and walnuts was dreamy. I felt the need to savour the vegetables that accompanied my seafood - they were so tasty. While I was a bit afraid of the coconut milk description of the sauce that accompanied the rice, it was actually amazing. To finish it off, I had the crime brûlée. Normally I only like the crunchy bit on top, but it was so rich and sweet I couldn't resist.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kormann
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stepped in the hotel on a stormy evening of a very cold New brunswick spring day.
So we were very pleased about the cosy hotel with a very friendly manager and stylish comfortable und individual rooms. And we were very happy about the excellent lobster meal we got in the delightful decorated restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tait House (Maison Tait)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tait House (Maison Tait)

Address: 293 Main Street, Shediac, New Brunswick, Canada
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Shediac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Shediac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tait House (Maison Tait) 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Tait House (Maison Tait) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tait House (Maison Tait) Shediac, New Brunswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tait House (Maison Tait), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.