We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take-out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sampan

Sampan
638 Manawagonish Road, Saint John, New Brunswick NB E2M 3W5, Canada
(506) 672-9050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 211 Restaurants in Saint John
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Take-out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We like to order their General Tao's Chicken as well as Kangpao Shrimp and have always been pleased with it. Usually takes 15 minutes after phone order. New Years can be a longer wait though.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    17
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fresh made-to-order buffet is amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

This restaurant is nothing fancy to look at. It's location isn't prime, nor are its decorations extravagant. It is, however , the only place in Saint John that I go to for Chinese food. This is for one reason, their buffet. For about sixteen dollars you get the buffet menu to choose from and whatever you pick is made hot-to-order and brought to your table. A great service and value

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
432 helpful votes 432 helpful votes
“Good Luck at Sampan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We are passing through on our way from Lunenburg, Nova Scotia to Jacksonville, Florida. Stopped here in St. John. Staying at a Comfort Inn. We asked for three recommendations on where to eat. Checked the recommendations with Trip Advisor. Not good. Looked at the Sampan which had great reviews. Trip Advisor got us to the right Restaurant. The food was great. I had the Seafood noodle soup. It was great. My wife had one of the combos and it was great also. The reason I didn't give them five stars is they brought out our meals at two different times. I had to wait about seven minutes after my wife got her food. Other than that the service was good. Go you won't be sorry.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I love the Chinese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

So so good, I love the dim sum at the weedend morning!! I think all the Chinese like that, when you see a lot of them sit there! And it is cheap, fantastic!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Canada
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Get a combo!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Ton of food in the combo, eating in is not very fancy but it attracts a lot of groups and parties. Been around a long long time for a good reason.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sampan also viewed

Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 
Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 

Been to Sampan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sampan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.