We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   51 Fashion Drive | East Point Center, Saint John, New Brunswick E2J 0A7, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 hotels in Saint John
New Brunswick
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was my second stay at the Hampton Inn. It's a newer hotel,so the furnishings are modern and in good condition. The beds are comfortable, and wi-fi is free. There is a very good hot breakfast buffet, and best of all the staff are very friendly and helpful. We used the pool, water slide and hot tub. The pool was small, but since we were the only ones using it I have no complaints!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ysjsjHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn and Suites Saint John. I was pleased to hear your enjoyed many of the great amenities Hampton has to offer. We recently upgrade our Wi-fi and have added 22 channels of HD programming.

Thank you for letting us know how much you appreciated the Hampton on the House breakfast. There are many menu items to choose from so there is something to satisfy everyone in the family !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    99
    25
    12
    5
See reviews for
114
86
22
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

$173 for no hot water, dirty pool area, and un clean breakfast tables, I stay alot of places and for the price this was not worth it, I even had the king sized suite- not the regular room and was surprised that the hotel was not up to par.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ysjsjHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I was sorry to hear about your experience with the hot water. On one weekend recently, the city had a major water main break that affected may hotels in the city and did do some damage to our hot water system. This was quickly repaired. It was our understanding from our contractor that this would not impact our guests so I was very concerned to learn that it did impact you. We appreciate you taking the time to provide your comments on other areas of the hotel and will review them in our team huddles to ensure we are meeting your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

First I will start with the good things, lots of parking, nice selection at breakfast, quiet rooms, centrally located, fridge and microwave in our room. Then the not so good, no hot water the entire weekend, returned after being gone for 9 hours on Saturday and our room was not cleaned! Beds not made, bthroom not cleaned, floor not vacuumed, etc. Also we had a broken door handle to the bathroom, it did not lock and grout was missing between the tiles, great for stubbing your toes.

I have travelled to lots of third world countries and always had hot water, could not believe I was in Canada and had to take lukewarm showers! When we notified the front desk they called back a few minutes later and said they had checked with four rooms and they all had some. Well they must have forgotten that we travelled as a group and all knew each other because I checked with 8 other rooms and they all said the same thing - lukewarm water all weekend! As for our room not being cleaned, they claimed that when we requested extra towels we asked for our room not to be cleaned. Not so! Who would do that??

All in all, very disappointing trip. I could not wait to get home just to be able to wash my face with HOT water!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ysjsjHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us. We are so sorry for the issues you encountered with hot water and housekeeping in your room. We know our guests deserve the best in service and accommodations and we regret this was not your impression. Having shared your comments with our team we will work harder to improve the look and feel of our property for our future guests and we hope you will consider staying with us again to experience the level of hospitality you deserve should you travel through our area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quispamsis, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My family and i had to stay at this hotel last weekend because we did not have power at our home due to a wind storm. I am just a little dog, and we were thankful that Hampton inn was pet friendly. I really felt at home and got a great sleep. My mom and dad had breakfast in the room in the morning and it looked really.really good.

I highly recommend this hotel to pet owners everywhere.

Autumn Francine

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ysjsjHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Autumn

We are so glad to hear that you and your humans had a comfortable stay away from all the stormy weather. At Hampton we love having pets here too !

It;s nice to know you we were and cozy and comfortable until you were able to return to your home. Thanks for letting us know how much your family appreciated the on the house breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HFX
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We booked a King Suite with corner hot tub. Website said it included a pull out couch. "this spacious studio suite contains a luxurious king-size bed, a two-person corner whirlpool, 32" flat screen color television, easy to operate alarm clock/radio, a comfortable desk and workspace with an ergonomic chair and a plush sofa bed". Well there was no pull out couch. We wouldn't have booked it if we knew that since we had 2 kids with us. They gave us a free roll away cot when I showed them what we booked. They were nice, but thats a big mistake in my mind. Selling us something that doesn't exist. Other than that hotel was fine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ysjsjHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank your for choosing to spend your family time with us and for sharing your feedback. We are sorry that your room did not have the sofa bed listed in the online description, and for any hassle this caused you. I was glad to hear that the hotel team quickly provided a solution and hope that you enjoyed your time with us.

The room type you booked has just recently become available online as it was previously only bookable at the hotel level. We have taken the necessary steps to ensure the online description is corrected. Thanks again for bringing this to our attention.

Thank you for choosing Hampton and we hope you will keep us in mind for your next family getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, NS Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Very economical, great clean rooms and easy parking and access. Front desk staff polite and professional. I was a tiny bit dismayed at the amount of throwaway material for the breakfast, like the plates and utensils, but maybe that comes with the non-kitchen style continental buffet. Also the coffee could be much stronger. Otherwise the room etc was terrific. Slept like a baby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ysjsjHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Glad to hear you had a great sleep !

We appreciate your comments about the disposable items in the breakfast bar and we wanted to reassure you that all our items are made from fully biodegrable and renewable materials such as potatoes. Also we do offer 3 types of coffee - regular, robust and decaf - sounds like the robust would be a good fit for your coffee preferences.

Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your stay !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I ended up here unplanned after car trouble, short notice, not much time to choose. I had an idea of what to expect and it was that good or even better. Everything clean and comfortable, spacious room with conveniences. Ugly strip mall locale but overweighed by being handy to restaurants. Staff were professional and friendly: one helped me with the waffle technology at the generous breakfast, another took the time to choose most convenient room for my needs and make restaurant recs., offered a lift to pick up my car. Not a "destination" on its own but a very convenient stopover.I would definitely stay again but hopefully no car trouble next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ysjsjHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Sorry to hear about your car trouble - That is the last thing you want to deal with when travelling !

It 's nice to know that our team was able to assist and to ensure your comfort under the circumstances. You even learned a new skill - waffle making !

Hopefully all is well with your vehicle and that the rest of your trip went as planned. Thanks for choosing Hampton !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John

Address: 51 Fashion Drive | East Point Center, Saint John, New Brunswick E2J 0A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Saint John
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint John
#5 Business Hotel in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Saint John Hotel Saint John
Hampton Inn And Suites By Hilton Saint John
Hampton Inn Saint John
Saint John Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Saint John New Brunswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Saint John, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.