We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the food sooo much!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taco Pica Worker Cooperative

Taco Pica Worker Cooperative
96 Germain St, Saint John, New Brunswick E2L 2E7, Canada
(506) 633-8492
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 211 Restaurants in Saint John
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Guatemalan
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Saint John, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Love the food sooo much!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I love the food here. It is genuine Guatemalan food and excellent drinks! A little above average in price, but the owner takes care of its workers and patrons. Live music certain nights of the week. The food is just plain delicious and of very high quality. Fairly casual location. Perfect for medium size parties. Reservations accepted.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    26
    9
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Homestyle Guatemalan Food :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Really feels like you're family when you dine here. The meals are filling and the restaurant itself is charming. They have lots of fun events that bring their culture into the city. The food is simple but very tasty. None of that tex-mex crap!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rivière-du-Loup, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
“Feels like we are in Latin America !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were just arriving in Saint-John, it was 8 PM (friday) and we were searching for an authentic place to eat with our 2 young children (3 and 6). We found it at Taco Pita. Not only did we find delicious, authentic food, but we really had a good time talking to the waiter and Santos (who looked like the owner). They were so pleasant and warm that we had the feeling that we were received at the owner’s house. Even tough there’s no kids menu, we ordered 3 big dishes to share. I particulary loved the «flautas» (tasty chicken rolled in a fried tortilla). We left late at the end of a great evening. We were surprised to run into Santos selling his meals at the City Market in the early morning, and the waiter took over in the afternoon… hard workers they surely are !

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Taco Pica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have always enjoyed the food at Taco Pica. It is reasonably priced in a non-pretentious environment. Portions are very generous.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, NB
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“It's become a tradition!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

A night out at Taco Pica has become a tradition for my brothers and I over the past 4-5 years. Santos, the "face" of Taco Pica, is a really nice guy who endures my butchery of the Spanish language with grace. The food is great and if you're there on the weekend there is live music. They also have a Latin dance night. To be honest, the service may be slower than other places but if you're out for an evening with friends, who cares!? A couple of coronas fill the time quite nicely. An interesting bit of trivia: The artwork you see on the walls was done by the chef.

Taco Pica: a nice spot for a night out with friends or a romantic meal with that special someone.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taco Pica Worker Cooperative also viewed

Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 
Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 

Been to Taco Pica Worker Cooperative? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taco Pica Worker Cooperative, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.