We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my kind of restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Chalet Rotisserie & Grill

Swiss Chalet Rotisserie & Grill
86 Consumers Drive, Saint John, New Brunswick E2J 4Z3, Canada
506-657-9477
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 204 restaurants in Saint John
Restaurant details
Ayr, Canada
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Not my kind of restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I can't believe we stopped to eat here but there was not much choice. Pretty well everything close to our hotel belonged to a chain, as did our hotel.

I dislike corporate restaurants because they lack creativity and innovation.

Three of us tried their back ribs and one had a chicken dish. They were 'okay' for this kind of establishment. But it's nothing that I would recommend.

The restaurant was clean and our server was friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    9
    13
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Always a positive dining experience - highly recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I always look forward to dining at the Swiss Chalet (Consumers Drive location) Saint John, NB. The dining experience begins with staff opening the door with a smile and welcome greeting. The staff are always prompt and diligent. The service is excellent and we never tire of the delicious quarter chicken menu with choice of sides cooked to perfection - moist and golden brown.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Glad we give it a second chance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

August 19, 2013 Arrive 20 mins before 9 PM (closing time) and was told by the waitress we closing in 20 minutes with no options as to can we order and have to leave by 9 PM or the last client is allowed in by 9 PM. Without a word just took us to a table without any comments. We just order the basic, ate and were out of there in 25 minutes. Chicken was okay but the atmosphere was not.

August 21, As Swiss Chalet – you know what to expect and want back. This time we had Jeremy as our host – what a difference. Good mood, accommodating to what we requested. True credit to the service industry. Because of the experience on Sunday I almost didn’t want to return to that Swiss Chalet location.

Rating below is for August 21, 2013

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent All Around Service & Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Well I must say, after all the places we have "checked out" in Saint John, since we moved here....This is the first one that impressed me. The food was great, the service was excellent. The place was clean and pleasant. The staff was more than helpful. Our waiter Reg, went out of his way to make us feel welcome and checked on us quite a few times. Even offered to refill our water glasses. That doesn't happen usually. The food was great tasting and portions were good. Well priced ,only $35 for us to eat a huge meal. Will be going there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food, great service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

A very friendly waitress was happy to serve us and bring us our meals as soon as they we're ready.
The restaurant was nice and quiet with only a few of us still there for a late supper.
Overall, a nice place for a decent bite to eat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swiss Chalet Rotisserie & Grill also viewed

Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 
Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 

Been to Swiss Chalet Rotisserie & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss Chalet Rotisserie & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.