We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taro - CLOSED

Taro
165 Union Street, Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Hampton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This is my favourite place for Authentic Vietnamese & Thai food (St. John, Quispamsis, Rothesay, Hampton) Excellent food! I wish more people would try it out, it has been empty each time we've been in. Rivals my favourite place in Toronto - great food. Atmosphere is great but the quality of the food makes up for that.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
saint john
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

The food here is really good. Especially the hot pots. Have been twice recently and really enjoyed it. Service a tad slow

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Back to let you know, I now have a new favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

So I went here for the second time, this time ordering the Vermicelli (with Beef), and wow! LOVE it. (I hear the vermicelli with pork is amazing too.) Vernicelli dish was so fresh, with sauce, and peanuts that you can mix in as you like and comes with a delicious spring roll. I will be back again and again for this dish! Amazing! Pho is also excellent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I ordered Pad Thai with tofu, it was very good; very fresh and vibrant. Not the best Pad Thai I've ever had, but that's my personal preference. My lunch date ordered the Pho, which I had several bites, it was amazing. I would order that next time I go. Really like that they bring you several condiments to add to the Pho, so each bite can be what you like. Delicious!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Food is pretty good but not the best Vietnamese I've had. The service was cold at first but eventually warmed up to us and became great after the third visit. From what I remember you can get a discount for working in the service industry, which I think is kind of sweet. I don't work in the service industry, but I appreciate the idea!
I would return again for sure, love Vietnamese food.. even if it's average.
Good place overall.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taro also viewed

Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 
Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.