We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East Coast Bistro

East Coast Bistro
60 Prince William Street, Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada
+1 506-696-3278
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 211 Restaurants in Saint John
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We had dinner here recently and for the most part everyone enjoyed their meals. The agnolotti was lovely and the scallop special was particularly nice. The soup was a disappointment. Lovely art on the walls from a local artist.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    29
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Last minute reservation pays off!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Decided last minute to go for supper at ECB and are we ever glad we did. Food was very good and the service was friendly and efficient! The Goatcheese appetizer was great and the sticky toffee desert was a nice way to end a great meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothesay, Canada
1 review
“My taste buds have been satisfied!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is my 3rd time at East Coast Bistro. Our office Christmas party was also held here and I found the room at the back very fitting for our group of 26. I would even say that you could have accommodated more people.

As for the food… we had Rosemary Roasted Turkey, East Coast Bacon Stuffing, Garlic Mashed Potatoes, Maple Glazed Parsnips and Carrots, Citrus-Spice Cranberry Sauce and Sage Turkey Jus. The desert was also “To Die For” (Apple Crisp)

My husband and I have eaten in Fine Dining Restaurants in the Maritimes; Trattoria Della Nonna in Lunenburg, The Press Gang Restaurant in Halifax. These are 4 ½ Star Restaurants and we have found the food at the East Coast Bistro to be comparable in presentation and as appealing to the palate.

I highly recommend this restaurant as “One of our Finest Restaurants” in Saint John.

Good Food, Good Service, Not rushed and reasonably priced. ENJOY!

E. Holmes

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, service okay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

East Coast Bistro was suggested by friends as a location for my birthday luncheon. Great food and good company is always a wonderful gift! The menu selections were varied, offering many options from light fare such as soups and salads, to sandwiches, to delectable dinner items. I decided on the chicken breast and it did not disappoint. Chicken is often overcooked and rubbery, but the East Coast Bistro cooked it to perfection, accompanied with mouthwatering sides! Wait staff was friendly and accommodating, but we had empty water glasses for most of the meal and empty plates sat in front of us for at least 5 min after we were done. It is not a "quick" location for lunch, taking 1.5 hours to get through our meal and dessert. But if you're not in a hurry, and enjoy amazing food for very reasonable prices - I highly recommend giving East Coast Bistro a try. Oh - a very important note: they serve gluten-free food!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Canada
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Growing pains for sure, good enough for a second chance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We had our work Christmas party there... little crowded, NOT for large groups for sure, 20 max and we had 28. We had to beg and threaten for bread or rolls with our meal, do they seriously think they can open a restaurant in the Maritimes and not serve bread of some kind? Yeah right, then you woke up! Everything tasted great, I just found there was not quite enough of it for me so I am home eating again, and I also cleaned the plate of a coworker who did not like dressing or carrots. . But for small to not very hungry medium eaters, it probably will do. Server either forgot or did not hear my drink order, twice. Did not feel it was worth the $$ for this sort of experience... we should have done buffet again. Chairs were obviously for overflow seating, not very comfortable at all. I will give them another chance in a month or two when they are used to the space and their products. I loved what food i did eventually get,

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Coast Bistro also viewed

Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 
Saint John, New Brunswick
Saint John, New Brunswick
 

Been to East Coast Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Coast Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.