We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly and convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Saint John

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Saint John to your Saves list
Hilton Saint John
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Market Square, Saint John, New Brunswick E2L 4Z6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter from just $109!
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Saint John
Halifax, Canada
1 review
“Super friendly and convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

During one of the coldest and snowiest post Christmas ever, we were able to travel inside to shopping, restaurants and our hockey game. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Jennifer C
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased that your recent stay was enjoyable and appreciate your comments on the friendly and helpful staff. It was also great to hear that you were able to use the 'inside connection' to get to your Hockey Game and the other attractions of Market Square. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kindest regards..Dermot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    160
    65
    32
    8
See reviews for
78
139
24
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed at Hilton Hotels often and we are never disappointed in service, friendliness, cleanliness and welcoming accommodations. The staff go out of their way to answer any questions or tend the needs of the hotel guests. We would recommend Hilton Hotels very highly and will stay again and often in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot_Collins, Manager at Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member
Thank you for your very positive review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us over the Christmas period. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon! Kindest regards..Dermot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Loved the hotel. We were upgraded to a suite as Hilton Honors members and given a complimentary breakfast, so needless to say we enjoyed our stay. The room was very spacious and comfortable. Walking distance to many nice restaurants. Our only problem was that the GPS took us across town. The desk clerk said they are aware of the problem. It was very hard navigating a strange town at night, but we could see the sign, which led us to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
edouard g
Thank you for your review. We were sorry to hear that you did not find value in the breakfast buffet at York Bistro. It is clear that we need to do a better job in advising our guests of the various options available for breakfast. Currently there are two buffet options. One being the full hot and cold buffet at $17.25 which includes eggs of your choice (i.e...poached, scrambled, omelettes, egg-white only) plus breakfast meats, cheeses, yogurts, hot and cold cereals, berries, smoked salmon, selection of artisan breads and many other items. Alternatively we offer a continental buffet for $12.25 which includes the cold items listed above plus juices, breakfast pastries (e.g..freshly baked croissants & muffins) and hot beverages. We also have a full A la Carte menu. We hope that on your next visit you will come to York Bistro again and try one of these options. With kindest regards..Dermot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Moved from wpg to nova scotia. The staff was incredibly nice but for the price this place was terrible. No fridge in the room, bathroom looked really old, tv reception terrible and the shower was weak. The pub on the main floor was really over priced and the food average, again the bartender was very friendly and funny. Parking wasn't even included and was an extra 18$. I've stayed in hotels all over Canada, this one is not worth the money. I say avoid this place.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Spongerob 72

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your kind words on our staff and service and your honest input on our value and amenities. We will use your comments as we continue to evolve our guests' experience and we hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction. Kindest regards..Dermot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed her as part of a coach tour and found the hotel to be very comfortable. Loved the views of the harbour and you can watch the changing weather. Also great for seeing the cruise ships come in. All the amenities were excellent but sadly no complimentary Wi Fi.
The breakfast was very good and the staff were helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
VicnHil
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your Coach tour through the Maritimes. Your positive comments on the hotel are very much appreciated and have been shared with all the team. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you as our guest again in the future. Kindest regards..Dermot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I spent two night here attending a conference and found it to be a cozy, comfortable, and convenient. It is literally attached to the city's conference centre, very convenient, and you can also get to a lot of shopping via skywalks. This can be important as the weather gets colder, as the winds off the ocean can be very cold. Just on the other side of the convention centre, very close, are several cosy restaurants, one an ale house, another specialising in seafood, a pub, etc., all with a lot of character. The hotel is one the water, so the views are nice. As for the rooms, they are very comfortable and large, as you would expect from a Hilton. I really nice place to stay and not that expensive compared with other Hiltons.

Room Tip: You might want to ask for a room facing the water. Mine was on the backside. You could see the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
morl8tr
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Saint John for the conference. The convenience of the Convention Centre and nearby shopping and restaurants is very often commented on and our guests really appreciate being adjacent to all the attractions that the City has to offer. We hope to welcome you back as our guest in the future. Kindest regards..Dermot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night for a quick business trip. Front desk staff was very friendly, quick and they even provided me with free wi-fi. Room comes with all the usuals and was very clean. My room was $139 plus tax. Location is excellent, especially in the winter since it is connected to the internal path to the city hall and other downtown buildings.

Tip: ask for a room with a view of the harbor.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dermot_Collins, Director of Sales at Hilton Saint John, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Stinkyrules
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We appreciate your comments regarding the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of guest rooms. The 'inside connection' to the Trade Centre, Market Square, and City Hall is a real advantage..especially as we come into the winter months. Being able to leave your coat in your room and go to work for the day is a real bonus! We look forward to your next visit. Kindest regards..Dermot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Saint John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Saint John

Address: 1 Market Square, Saint John, New Brunswick E2L 4Z6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint John
#5 Family Hotel in Saint John
#5 Business Hotel in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Saint John 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Saint John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Saint John Hotel Saint John
Hilton Hotel Saint John
Saint John Hilton
Hilton Saint John New Brunswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Saint John, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.