We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep in mind that this is a 3 star hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Portland Street at Main, Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 4H8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Saint John
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Keep in mind that this is a 3 star hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed there Oct. 22 - 29 2013. We booked it because it is within walking distance of the Harbour Station Arena...15 minutes. Thankfully we were car-free. Event parking at the arena required the same amount of walking, fees and traffic. This Howard Johnsons is an old hotel that is being renovated piece by piece. It's clean, comfortable, large rooms with everything we needed. Well almost: for now there isn't any in room safe or security availble at the front desk. Also there is a nice pool, towels provided, etc. but in room it's hard to find a place to hang wet bathing suits. Check the amenities...kitchenettes are available, fridge and microwave, etc. The staff throughout, including a very nice restaurant, is first rate. This hotel FITS THE LANDSCAPE and is an exceptional value. If a 5 star is needed one should look for that. Yes, you may see frayed carpets and chipped paint, etc. but that's minor stuff. It's clean, large, with Bay of Fundy views for reasonable rates. Breakfast was included. Airport shuttle was included, prompt and efficient. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Check the amenities list. If something is important to you, like Bay of Fundy view, kitchenette, et...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    26
    37
    24
    32
See reviews for
52
38
14
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I stayed 3 nights in October during the Skate Canada competition. As I write this review a month later, I’m still amazed at all the extras I had at such a low price.

I really appreciated the free shuttle to and from the airport. I think it’s available for stays of 3 nights or more. It’s a 20 minute ride so cab fare would have been costly. A nice gentleman met me at the airport holding a sign with my name. You need to make arrangements to go back to the airport one day prior departure. I was the only one needing a ride both ways so I’m sure this service was pretty costly for the hotel but they seemed happy to oblige.

The breakfasts were really good. You get to choose from a menu with 11 choices including omelettes, eggs with homefries and choice of meats and pancakes. Much better than the usual included buffet style breakfasts. The dining room is quite large and we never had to wait for a table even though the hotel seemed at full capacity.

The room was humongous and clean. There’s a kitchenette area with a midsize fridge, a sink and a microwave. There’s a plastic bin full of ustensils, cups and plates which I thought was a nice touch. My king size bed was comfortable and had plenty of pillows. They have adjoining rooms so keep this in mind if you’re travelling with familly.

The location is good even though the downtown area is on the other side of the highway. It’s about a 15 minute walk and the friendly front desk staff will be happy to point you in the right direction.

I don’t think you can find a better hotel in Saint John at this price point.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a fantastic weekend here. The hotel staff were friendly, our room was clean and bright(newly painted), and the on site restaurant was really good(the FREE made to order breakfast surprised us, and it was delicious). The prices in the restaurant were affordable which made it an easy choice to eat on site for most of the weekend. We were close to Saint John's uptown area and we visited that area as well. The hotel also has free parking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here sing because the Hilton was sold out of our corporate rate. The staff were amazing, and helped me out with a couple of issues I had not related to the hotel. However, the greatest staff on earth couldn't help thus place out. The tiling in the bathroom was chipped and broken and the flooring was perhaps original to the hotel, very dated and in poor condition. The furnishings were scraped and in very poor condition. Then the bed....perhaps original to the hotel as well, was a king sized and was so saggy it was pathetic. The line I was given was that the free hot breakfast makes up for any hotel short comings...it was fine, but you have 1 choice on the menu, including only one beverage - so if you want a coffee and juice, there's a charge. Granted the hotel is very dated, but improving the amenities like having a bar and restaurant that is open past 9 pm, and a fresh hot buffet breakfast included with the rate might help. I will avoid coming back, if the corporate rare is not available at the Hilton, maybe I'll look for a hostile.....

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I just spent the weekend here, and I have to say, I was impressed with this hotel. The lobby are is clean and bright and vey welcoming. The staff member was very friendly upon check in and quite helpful in answering any questions I had. My room was clean, and the bed had new bedding. I had a great sleep. In the morning the hotel offered a free mad to order breakfast which was FABULOUS!! I will definitely be back-as will the group of friends that stayed here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel. I was meeting friends for a reunion. The hotel was very nice and clean. Staff were friendly. Room was clean, bright, had a new flat screen TV and the bed had new bedding was so comfy!! I had a great view. The hotel offers free made to order breakfast which was a pleasant surprise. Service in the hotels restaurant was great. All in all my stay was a great one!! Would definitely recommend this hotel--GREAT PRICE!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at HJ in Saint John for one night while touring the East Coast. Price was more or less reasonable in comparison to other hotels however the hotel is in bad need of renovations. All furniture is tired, to the point it is now retro in style, banged up and scratched. Carpets were not only old but dirty, baseboards with water marks, peeling paint etc etc. fixtures I n bathroom appeared to be the original, seemingly management is trying to squeeze every last penny out of the place before refurbishing. Location is convenient with a view of the harbor and walking distance (1 km) to shopping. For breakfast a choice of options are available and it was quite good and included in the room. Service was fine. Overall very average.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza

Address: 10 Portland Street at Main, Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 4H8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the history of Canada’s oldest incorporated city by staying at the Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza. The hotel is located between Historic Fort Howe and historic Fort LaTour (located on the Saint John harbour front). The hotel is adjacent to the Lord Beaverbrook Rink and Harbour Passage. A short walk along Harbour Passage puts you in the heart of uptown Saint John. Whether you are traveling from the East or from the West, the Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza is ideal for the business or leisure traveller as it is easily accessible from Highway 1. The Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza offers 133 spacious and comfortable guest rooms, 8 meeting/conference facilities and 1 large reception hall which can accommodate up to 450 guests. Let our knowledgeable and friendly staff transform your stay in Saint John into one you will not soon forget and allow us to make the Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza your home away from home. Fun for the whole family. The Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza also offers one of the largest hotel indoor pools in Saint John, complete with shower facilities. Want to relax, spend some time in our hot tub or try out our fitness centre. All available to our guests free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza Hotel Saint John
Fort Howe Saint John
Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza Saint John, New Brunswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.