We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Portland Street at Main, Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 4H8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Saint John
Nova Scotia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We spent a night at the HoJo while visiting family in the Saint John hospital, great location. The hotel and our room were spotless. The free breakfast allowed us to order one of elevn items off their breakfast menu. Staff were very friendly. We would stay at this hotel in a heart beat again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    24
    37
    22
    29
See reviews for
49
35
13
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I had a wonderful stay and a great weekend with friends. The staff were friendly and helpful, cant wait for my next stay. The free hot breakfast was really good and being able to order what I want was incredible. Fabulous option! We even had time to enjoy the pool and hot tub. What an enjoyable weekend and cant wait to visit Saint John again and stay at the Fort Howe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I spent the weekend with friends in Saint John, and we stayed at the Fort Howe. The beds were comfortable, the front desk staff were friendly and welcoming, and the free hot breakfast (made to order) in the morning was great. We all agreed that we enjoyed our stay, and I would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend with friends. It was quiet and we had a relaxing time. The staff was very friendly. They have a nice pool. The hotel is close to everyting, shopping, restaurants and the Market. The breakfast was complementary.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at the Fort Howe Plaza. I met up with friends for a weekend full of shopping and relaxation. When we got there, the hotel staff were pleasant and welcoming. The rooms were clean and had everything we needed. I liked the extra shampoo and soap dispenser.
The free breakfast was exceptional and appreciated. I was surprised to see a full menu of choices. This hotel is in a convenient location. It was close to everything we wanted to do like the Market, restaurants and shopping. We even took time to enjoy the pool which was clean and pleasant. I enjoyed looking at the old pictures of Saint John in the lobby area and the view of the Harbour from my room. Anytime we crossed paths with staff in the hallways, elevator or front desk they always had a smile. It's nice to feel welcome. I would definitely come back to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calais, Maine
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We recently checked into this hotel for 3 nights, as our daughter was in a dance competition for Dance Quest Productions. Our chek-in was prompt and we were off to our room. Our room was clean, and had 2 double beds,new flat screen tv,and was quite spacious. We decided to stay at this hotel because they offered FREE made to order breakfast and on Fri and Sat night they offered free pizza(which was delicious)and pop. This is a great offer especially for large groups or team travelling for tournaments, competitions etc.
The hotel also has nice pool and its is close to the downtown of Saint John.
It also offer free wifi which our daughter liked. :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Excellent breakfast. Great rooms and beds. Staff were. Very friendly and check in time was quick. I was here on a stop over for business but I would return with my husband for future trips

Thank you Howard Johnsons Saint John

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza

Address: 10 Portland Street at Main, Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 4H8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the history of Canada’s oldest incorporated city by staying at the Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza. The hotel is located between Historic Fort Howe and historic Fort LaTour (located on the Saint John harbour front). The hotel is adjacent to the Lord Beaverbrook Rink and Harbour Passage. A short walk along Harbour Passage puts you in the heart of uptown Saint John. Whether you are traveling from the East or from the West, the Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza is ideal for the business or leisure traveller as it is easily accessible from Highway 1. The Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza offers 133 spacious and comfortable guest rooms, 8 meeting/conference facilities and 1 large reception hall which can accommodate up to 450 guests. Let our knowledgeable and friendly staff transform your stay in Saint John into one you will not soon forget and allow us to make the Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza your home away from home. Fun for the whole family. The Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza also offers one of the largest hotel indoor pools in Saint John, complete with shower facilities. Want to relax, spend some time in our hot tub or try out our fitness centre. All available to our guests free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza Hotel Saint John
Fort Howe Saint John
Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza Saint John, New Brunswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Fort Howe Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.