We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Loved the upgrade!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Main Street | at Chesley Drive, Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 4N5, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Saint John
Ennice, North Carolina
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great location. Loved the upgrade!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Reserved a queen bed and was upgraded to a king room on the top floor . . . without even asking! Room had harbor view and turned a quick overnight stop into a luxurious stay.

St. John is hilly but walkable, and hotel location made an after-dinner walk a great way to stretch after a long day of driving.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to ask for a harbor-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks for your recent review of our Award winning Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Saint John.
Our King Suites are indeed very popular and the view from the 7th floor is beautiful. Cruise ships can be seen coming in and out of the Harbour at this time of year and its a great vantage point. A 10 minute walk out of our doors gets you into the heart of uptown and the many sights - sounds of our Historic city. So glad you enjoyed your stay here!

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    93
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
61
68
13
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

There is NOTHING HERE. And NOTHING within walking distance. You can't even get to the McDonalds across the street without walking all the way around the hotel. Which is fine if it's nice out..Not so much when it's in the low 40's and raining. No food, the "pub" in the basement doesn't serve food on Sunday, so you're pretty much screwed. Not that I would eat there anyway. Front desk guy was nice. That's the one good thing I can say.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear BocaRay,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests and for that please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced and if our hotel fell below your expectations in many aspects. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for your feedback as it will help us strive to become a better hotel.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Ask for a view of the harbor, beautiful. Breakfast was decent, typical toast, sausages, fruit yogurt etc. even had a pancake machine wich the kids loved. Also instead of thentypical scrambled eggs, they served western omelets. The rooms were good size, the beds were comfy and and the main areas of the hotels were clean The hot tub was HUGE, loved it. The front lobby was warm and welcoming Will stay again and recommend to others. Got a rate of $109, which was along the average with other hotels in the area.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Canada_Gurlie,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide a unique experience to all our guests. We appreciate the compliments on our room accommodations and amenities. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I spent our wedding night in the Presidential Suite. I must say that I was truly amazed at how beautiful the room was. We were treated like royalty and had a perfect stay at the hotel. The room was spacious, furnished beautifully, had many extra touches and a beautiful two person jet tub. It was meticulously clean and we had tons of fluffy towels and beautiful robes. I cant recommend this hotel (and particularly this room) enough. I should also mention that we have stayed in a queen room as well and it was also very nice. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thanks so much for your recent review of our Hotel!

And congratulations on your special day!
Your comments have been circulated to our entire team who strive each day to make every guest experience comfortable and enjoyable.
Our housekeeping staff will be beaming over the "Meticulously clean" comment. They are a veteran bunch who take great pride in their work.

Thanks again for staying with us and come back soon!

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

While traveling from PEI to USA, we stayed at the Holiday Inn and Suites St John, NB.

Lots of parking front desk host (John) was super friendly and could not do enough to help. Centennial breakfast was included and was a great way to start the day. The Holiday Inn and Suites were immediately off the exit to the highway and a very quick entrance to continuing to destination. Thanks for starting our vacation in the Great Way you did. Happy Islanders !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thanks for your recent comments on your stay with us!

Glad to hear your experience was a good one and that John took great care of you. He is one of our many long term employee's who truly know Guest Service and care about making every guest stay a wonderful one.

Thanks for saying with us! Come back soon.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

2 adults and 2 children stayed in Kid's Suite.

Small issues: phone on beside table did not work, no door on kid's bedroom (pocket door could easily work), "free" breakfast was not that good.

Larger issues: youth hockey team booked on our floor-they were up and down the hall until about 1:30 a.m.; our room was adjacent to stairwell and same hockey team was also booked above us and below us-we heard them "pounding" up and down the stairs all night; we did lodge noise complaint at about 11:30 and the young man who dealt with complaint was sympathetic but noise continued;

Why would a family room be booked in the middle of this hockey team???

Huge issue: telephone on desk actually sparked at 4:12 am! AND hook on ladder of bunk bed completely snapped off. This ladder could easily twist with a child on it and given the size of the room the child would hit a piece of furniture on the way to the ground!

We did leave these issues with the desk clerk who checked us out and was told that she was sorry but that was her only response

Room Tip: Make sure room is not adjacent to stairwell and ask if there are any large groups booked close to yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay.
Holiday Inn Express is committed to providing a comfortable, clean product, along with friendly courteous service, however your situation indicated we must continue to try and improve.

Please accept my sincere apology on behalf of the Hotel for the poor experience you had during your stay with us. Rest assured that the team here has taken care of all of the concerns you have written about. I am glad that we had to opportunity to communicate with you directly since your stay to go over each item.

If you are travelling to Saint John in the future, I ask that you give us the opportunity to welcome you once again and I will ensure you a more pleasant and satisfying stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEI
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Staff were super friendly and pleasant. Rooms were clean, beds were comfy. Breakfast was great. Hotel was full the night we stayed and didn't hear a thing during the night. Will most certainly be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent review !
We strive to make every guest stay here a positive one. From the veteran team of Guest Service Agents to an outstanding Housekeeping crew, maintenance and Breakfast Bar - each member takes great pride in their part of that experience.

Thanks for staying with us and come back soon!

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John

Address: 400 Main Street | at Chesley Drive, Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 4N5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Saint John
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Award winning Holiday Inn Express & Suites Saint John Harbour Side You're invited to stay at our Saint John hotel, located just minutes from numerous attractions in Saint John, NB. Hotels in the area can't compete with the great amenities and location we offer you. When you stay at our hotel in Saint John, you're near the world-famous Reversing Falls, the Old City Market and the new Harbour Passage Trail, giving you fast access to the shops and attractions of uptown Saint John. Our hotel is also located near historic Fort Howe, an 18th and 19th century British Army fortification. Are you a corporate traveler looking for hotels in Saint John? Our lodgings are adjacent to the Place 400 Business Complex, where the Xerox and IBM Call Centres are located. We are also within a 10-minute drive of the Aliant and Irving head offices. If you're planning an event, you'll find four meeting rooms with rentable equipment at our hotel in Saint John. Your search for Saint John, NB hotels ends with us. Our smoke free hotel features an indoor pool, Fitness Centre and a Business Centre. You can enjoy complimentary high-speed Internet access in all rooms and public areas, and you can wake up each morning to our complimentary Express Start "Hot" breakfast, served exclusively at Holiday Inn Express hotels. Flat screen televisions, Mini fridges and microwaves now in all of our rooms. In Saint John, you can relax in comfort and convenience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John Hotel Saint John
Holiday Inn Express And Suites - Saint John
Holiday Inn Saint John
Holiday Inn Express Saint John
Saint John Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John New Brunswick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.